The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2015 winners

2015 finalists:

2014 winners:

2013 Winners

[* links to sfadb pages with nominee indexing and cover images]



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2012 SF&F Translation Award Finalists

The Association for the Recognition of Excellence in SF & F Translation (ARESFFT) announced the finalists for the 2012 Science Fiction and Fantasy Translation Awards (for works published in 2011) at Åcon 5.


  • Zero, Huang Fan, translated from the Chinese by John Balcom (Columbia University)
  • Good Luck Yukikaze, Chohei Kambayashi, translated from the Japanese by Neil Nadelman (Haikasoru)
  • The Dragon Arcana, Pierre Pevel, translated from the French by Tom Clegg (Gollancz)
  • Utopia, Ahmed Khaled Towfik, translated from the Arabic by Chip Rossetti (Bloomsbury Qatar)
  • Midnight Palace, Carlos Fuiz Zafón, translated from the Spanish by Lucia Graves (Little, Brown)


  • “Paradiso”, Georges-Oliver Chateaureynaud, translated from the French by Edward Gauvin (Liquid Imagination Summer ’11)
  • The Boy Who Cast No Shadow, Thomas Olde Heuvelt, translated from the Dutch by Laura Vroomen (PS)
  • “The Short Arm of History”, Kenneth Krabat, translated from the Danish by Niels Dalgaard (Sky City: New Science Fiction Stories by Danish Authors)
  • “Stanlemian”, Wojciech Orlinski, translated from the Polish by Danusia Stok (Lemistry)
  • “The Green Jacket”, Gudrun Östergaard, self-translated from the Danish (Sky City: New Science Fiction Stories by Danish Authors)
  • “The Fish of Lijiang”, Chen Qiufan, translated from the Chinese by Ken Liu (Clarkesworld 8/11)
  • “Spellmaker”, Andrzej Sapkowski, translated from the Polish by Michael Kandel (A Polish Book of Monsters)

Each winning author and translator will receive a cash prize of $350. The winners will be announced at the 2012 Finncon, July 21-22, 2012.

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.