The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for June, 2012

Campbell and Sturgeon Award Winners

The Islanders by Christopher Priest (Gollancz) and The Highest Frontier by Joan Slonczewski (Tor) tied to win this year’s John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel published in 2011, and Paul McAuley’s “The Choice” (Asimov’s 2/11) is the winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for best short fiction of 2011. Embassytown by China Miéville (Del Rey) came in third for the Campbell, […]

Amazon to Acquire Dorchester

A “Notice of Public Disposition” posted today reveals that Amazon intends to buy Dorchester at public auction; a higher bidder could outbid Amazon, should other parties be interested. Agents and authors owed monies by Dorchester will be offered an amendment to their contracts, offering the transfer of rights to Amazon in exchange for all back […]

2012 Sunburst Award Shortlist

Finalists for the 12th annual Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic have been announced: Adult: Blackdog, K.V. Johansen (Pyr) Eutopia: A Novel of Terrible Optimism, David Nickle  (ChiZine) Technicolor Ultra Mall, Ryan Oakley (EDGE) Enter, Night, Michael Rowe (ChiZine) Paradise Tales, Geoff Ryman (Small Beer) The Pattern Scars, Caitlin Sweet (ChiZine) […]

2012 Chesley Awards Finalists

Finalists for the 2012 Chesley Awards, given by the Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists (ASFA), were announced: Best Cover Illustration – Paperback Book Mitchell D. Bentley, for The Alamo and Zombies by Jean A. Stuntz (Yard Dog Press) Dan Dos Santos, for My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland (DAW) […]

2012 Locus Awards Winners

The winners of the 2012 Locus Awards have been announced: Science Fiction Novel Embassytown, China Miéville (Del Rey; Macmillan) Leviathan Wakes, James S. A. Corey (Orbit US; Orbit UK) 11/22/63, Stephen King (Scribner; Hodder & Stoughton as 11.22.63) Rule 34, Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit UK) The Children of the Sky, Vernor Vinge (Tor) Fantasy Novel […]

2012 Legend Award Winners

The 2012 David Gemmell Legend Award winners have been announced: Legend Award (Best Novel): The Wise Man’s Fear, Patrick Rothfuss (Gollancz) The Heroes, Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz) Blackveil, Kristen Britain (Gollancz) Warhammer: Blood of Aenarion, William King (Black Library UK) The Alloy of Law, Brandon Sanderson (Gollancz) Morningstar Award (Best Debut): The Heir of Night, Helen […]

Ness Wins Carnegie, Kay Wins Greenaway

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (Walker UK) won the Carnegie Medal for “the most outstanding book for children” published in the UK last year. Jim Kay won the Kate Greenaway Medal for outstanding illustration for his work on A Monster Calls.  The awards were presented at a ceremony June 14, 2012 in London This is the first […]

2012 Ditmar Award Winners

The 2012 Ditmar Awards for Australian SF were announced at the Continuum 8: Craftonomicon, the 51st Australian National SF Convention, June 8-11, 2012. The winners are: Best Novel The Courier’s New Bicycle, Kim Westwood (HarperCollins) Debris, Jo Anderton (Angry Robot) Burn Bright, Marianne de Pierres (Random House) The Shattered City, Tansy Rayner Roberts (HarperCollins) Mistification, […]

2011 Sidewise Award Finalists

The 2011 Sidewise Award Finalists for the best alternate history of 2011 have been announced: Short Form: “The Iron Shirts”, Michael F. Flynn ( 5/4/11) “Paradise Is a Walled Garden”, Lisa Goldstein (Asimov’s 8/11) “Orion Rising”, Jason Stoddard (Panverse 3) “Lee at the Alamo”, Harry Turtledove ( 9/7/11) Long Form Castro’s Bomb, Robert Conroy (self […]

Jim Young (1951-2012)

Writer, fan, and occasional Locus contributor Jim Young, 61, died June 12, 2012 in a Fullerton CA hospital of complications from a glioblastoma. Young wrote two SF novels, The Face of the Deep (1979) and Armed Memory (1995). He also wrote short fiction, with his most recent story, “The Whirlwind”, appearing in F&SF in 2011. […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.