The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2012 Chesley Awards Finalists

Finalists for the 2012 Chesley Awards, given by the Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists (ASFA), were announced:

Best Cover Illustration – Paperback Book

  • Mitchell D. Bentley, for The Alamo and Zombies by Jean A. Stuntz (Yard Dog Press)
  • Dan Dos Santos, for My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland (DAW)
  • Justin Gerard, for Hearts of Smoke & Steam by Andrew P. Mayer (Pyr)
  • Lucas Graciano, for The Goblin Corps by Ari Marmell (Pyr)
  • David Palumbo, for God’s War by Kameron Hurley (Night Shade)
  • Matthew Stewart, for The Cloud Roads by Martha Wells (Night Shade)
  • Jon Sullivan, for The Curious Case of the Clockwork Man by Mark Holder (Pyr)
  • J. P. Targete, for The Sword of Darrow by Alex & Hal Malchow (BenBella)

Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book

  • Tom Kidd, for Deathbird Stories by Harlan Ellison (Subterranean)
  • Stephan Martiniere, for Prospero Regained by L. Jagi Lamplighter (Tor)
  • Lee Moyer, for Two Worlds and In Between: The Best of Caitlín R. Kieran (Subterranean)
  • Cliff Nielsen, for The Tempering of Men by Sarah Monette & Elizabeth Bear (Tor)
  • Greg Staples, for The Horror Stories of Robert E. Howard (Subterranean)

Best Cover Illustration – Magazine

  • Facundo Diaz for Clarkesworld #57 (7/11)
  • Laura Diehl for Fantasy #53 (8/11)
  • Lee Moyer for Weird Tales #357 (Winter 2010/2011)
  • Carly B. Sorge for Apex Magazine #28 (9/11)
  • Dariusz Zawadski for Fantasy #50 (5/11)

Best Interior Illustration

  • Julie Dillon, for “The Dala Horse” by Michael Swanwick (
  • Scott Gustafson, for Eddie: The Lost Youth of Edgar Allan Poe by Scott Gustafson (Simon & Schuster)
  • Ryohei Hase, for “Narco Americano” by T. J. English (Playboy)
  • Greg Staples, for The Horror Stories of Robert E. Howard (Subterranean)
  • J. P. Targete, for The Sword of Darrow by Alex & Hal Malchow (BenBella)

Best Three-Dimensional Art

  • Gil Bruvel, for “Dichotomy” (cupro nickel)
  • Thomas S. Kuebler, for “Baba Yaga” (mixed)
  • Michael Parkes for “Moonstruck” (bronze)
  • Virginie Ropars, for “Autumnnalis Venenata” (mixed)
  • Vincent Villafranca, for “Robobike” (bronze)

Best Color Work—Unpublished

  • Stephen Hickman, for “The Hero of the Apotheosis” (acrylic)
  • David Palumbo, for “Through a Blood Red Veil” (oil)
  • Omar Rayyan, for “The Dragon and the Nightingale” (watercolor)
  • Eric Velhagen, for “Fantasy Feast” (oil)
  • Raoul Vitale, for “Turin and Glaurang” (oil)

Best Monochrome Work – Unpublished

  • Justin Gerard, for “St. George and the Dragon” (pencil)
  • Stephen Hickman, for “Siegfried” (ink on toned paper)
  • Joāo Ruas, for “Migration” (graphite on paper, vellum & acetate)
  • Raoul Vitale, for “The Yeti” (pencil)
  • Allen Williams, for “Wood Nymph” (pencil)

Best Product Illustration

  • Stuart Craig, for production design for the Harry Potter films, Warner Brothers
  • Lee Moyer, for Check These Out, 2012 Literary Pin-up Calendar (Worldbuilders)
  • John Picacio, for George R.R. Martin: A Song of Ice and Fire, 2012 Calendar (Random House)
  • William Stout, for Zombies 2012, Calendar (Andrews McMeel)
  • Michael Whelan, for “Gift from the Sea” (Dragon*Con 2011 promo art & program book)
  •  Mark Zug, for IlluXCon 2011 promo poster

Best Gaming-Related Illustration

  • E.M. Gist, for “Wandering Elf” (Magic: The Gathering)
  • Lucas Graciano, for Pathfinder Player Companion: The Humans of Golarian (Paizo)
  • Michael C. Hayes, for “Distress” (Magic: The Gathering)
  • Chris Rahn, for “Glissa, the Traitor” (Magic: The Gathering)
  • Matt Stewart, for “Creepy Doll” (Magic: The Gathering)

Best Art Director

  • Matt Adelsperger, for Wizards of the Coast
  • Lou Anders, for Pyr
  • Irene Gallo, for Tor
  • David Palumbo, for Night Shade
  • Jon Schindehette, for Wizards of the Coast

Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement

  • Jim Burns
  • Jean Giraud (AKA Moebius)
  • Charles Vess

The winners will be announced at the Chesley Awards ceremony will be held at Chicon 7, the 70th World Science Fiction Convention, August 30-September 3, 2012. For more, see the ASFA website.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.