The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2012 Ditmar Award Winners

The 2012 Ditmar Awards for Australian SF were announced at the Continuum 8: Craftonomicon, the 51st Australian National SF Convention, June 8-11, 2012. The winners are:

Best Novel

  • The Courier’s New Bicycle, Kim Westwood (HarperCollins)
  • Debris, Jo Anderton (Angry Robot)
  • Burn Bright, Marianne de Pierres (Random House)
  • The Shattered City, Tansy Rayner Roberts (HarperCollins)
  • Mistification, Kaaron Warren (Angry Robot)

Best Novella or Novelette

  • “The Past is a Bridge Best Left Burnt”, Paul Haines (The Last Days of Kali Yuga)
  • “And the Dead Shall Outnumber the Living”, Deborah Biancotti (Ishtar)
  • “Above”, Stephanie Campisi (Above/ Below)
  • “Below”, Ben Peek (Above/ Below)
  • “Julia Agrippina’s Secret Family Bestiary”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Love and Romanpunk)

Best Short Story

  • “The Patrician”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Love and Romanpunk)
  • “Bad Power”, Deborah Biancotti (Bad Power)
  • “Breaking the Ice”, Thoraiya Dyer (Cosmos 37)
  • “The Last Gig of Jimmy Rucker”, Martin Livings & Talie Helene (More Scary Kisses)
  • “Alchemy”, Lucy Sussex (Thief of Lives)
  • “All You Can Do Is Breathe”, Kaaron Warren (Blood and Other Cravings)

Best Collected Work

  • The Last Days of Kali Yuga, Paul Haines (Brimstone)
  • Bad Power, Deborah Biancotti (Twelfth Planet)
  • Nightsiders, Sue Isle (Twelfth Planet)
  • Ishtar, Amanda Pillar & K.V. Taylor, eds. (Gilgamesh)
  • Love and Romanpunk, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Twelfth Planet)

Best Artwork

  • “Finishing School”, Kathleen Jennings in Steampunk! (Candlewick)
  • Cover art, The Freedom Maze (Small Beer), Kathleen Jennings

Best Fan Writer

  • Robin Pen, for The Ballad of the Unrequited Ditmar
  • Bruce Gillespie, for body of work
  • Alexandra Pierce, for body of work
  • Tansy Rayner Roberts, for body of work
  • Sean Wright, for body of work

Best Fan Artist

  • Kathleen Jennings, for work in Errantry ( including “The Dalek Game”
  • Rebecca Ing, for work in Scape
  • Dick Jenssen, for body of work
  • Lisa Rye, for the Steampunk Portal series
  • Rhianna Williams, for work in the Nullas Anxietas Convention Programme Book

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott & Ian Mond
  • SF Commentary, Bruce Gillespie, ed.
  • Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts, & Alex Pierce
  • Galactic Chat, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts, & Sean Wright
  • The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan & Gary K. Wolfe

Best New Talent

  • Joanne Anderton
  • Alan Baxter
  • Steve Cameron

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review

  • Alexandra Pierce & Tehani Wessely, for reviews of the Vorkosigan Saga, in Randomly Yours, Alex
  • Russell Blackford, for “Currently reading: Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke”, in Metamagician and the Hellfire Club
  • Damien Broderick & Van Ilkin, for editing Warriors of the Tao: The Best of Science Fiction: A Review of Speculative Literature (Borgo Press)
  • Liz Grzyb & Talie Helene, for “2010: The Year in Review”, in The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2010 (Ticonderoga)
  • David McDonald, Tansy Rayner Roberts & Tehani Wessely for “Reviewing New Who” series, in A Conversational Life

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.