The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2012 Legend Award Winners

The 2012 David Gemmell Legend Award winners have been announced:

Legend Award (Best Novel):

  • The Wise Man’s Fear, Patrick Rothfuss (Gollancz)
  • The Heroes, Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz)
  • Blackveil, Kristen Britain (Gollancz)
  • Warhammer: Blood of Aenarion, William King (Black Library UK)
  • The Alloy of Law, Brandon Sanderson (Gollancz)

Morningstar Award (Best Debut):

  • The Heir of Night, Helen Lowe (Orbit UK)
  • Songs of the Earth, Elspeth Cooper (Gollancz)
  • Among Thieves, Douglas Hulick (Tor UK)
  • Prince of Thorns, Mark Lawrence (Harper Voyager UK)
  • The Unremembered, Peter Orullian (Tor UK)

Ravenheart Award (Best Cover Art):

  • Cover for Warhammer: Blood of Aenarion by Raymond Swanland (Black Library UK)
  • Cover for Journey By Night by Aaron Briggs (Harper Collins Australia)
  • Cover for The Heroes by Didier Graffet & Dave Senior (Gollancz)
  • Cover for Among Thieves by Larry Rostant (Tor UK)
  • Cover for Oracles Fire by Frank Victoria (Harper Collins Australia)

The awards were presented at a ceremony held at London’s Magic Circle headquarters on June 15, 2012.  Next year’s awards will take place as part of the 2013 World Fantasy Convention in Brighton, United Kingdom October 31-November 3, 2013. For more information see The David Gemmell Legend Awards website.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.