The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2015 winners

2015 finalists:

2014 winners:

2013 Winners

[* links to sfadb pages with nominee indexing and cover images]



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2012 Sidewise Award Finalists

The 2012 Sidewise Award Finalists for the best alternate history of 2011 have been announced:

Short Form:

  • “The Iron Shirts”, Michael F. Flynn ( 5/4/11)
  • “Paradise Is a Walled Garden”, Lisa Goldstein (Asimov’s 8/11)
  • “Orion Rising”, Jason Stoddard (Panverse 3)
  • “Lee at the Alamo”, Harry Turtledove ( 9/7/11)

Long Form

  • Castro’s Bomb, Robert Conroy (self published)
  • Himmler’s War, Robert Conroy (Baen)
  • Then Everything Changed, Jeff Greenfield (Putnam)
  • Wake Up and Dream, Ian R. MacLeod (PS)
  • Planesrunner, Ian McDonald (Pyr)
  • Heart of Iron, Ekaterina Sedia (Prime)
  • Camera Obscura, Lavie Tidhar (Angry Robot)

The winners will be announced at the 2012 Worldcon in Chicago. For more information, see the Sidewise Awards for Alternate History website.

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.