The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Campbell and Sturgeon Award Winners

The Islanders by Christopher Priest (Gollancz) and The Highest Frontier by Joan Slonczewski (Tor) tied to win this year’s John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel published in 2011, and Paul McAuley’s “The Choice” (Asimov’s 2/11) is the winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for best short fiction of 2011.

Embassytown by China Miéville (Del Rey) came in third for the Campbell, and Osama by Lavie Tidhar (PS) received an honorable mention. “Six Months, Three Days” by Charlie Jane Anders ( 6/8/11) was runner-up for the Sturgeon, and “The Paper Menagerie” by Ken Liu (F&SF 3-4/11) came in third.

The awards will be presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, to be held July 5-8, 2012 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Other finalists were as follows:

John W. Campbell Memorial Award

  • Ready Player One, Ernest Cline (Crown)
  • This Shared Dream, Kathleen Ann Goonan (Tor)
  • Soft Apocalypse, Will McIntosh (Night Shade)
  • Dancing with Bears, Michael Swanwick (Night Shade)
  • Robopocalypse, Daniel H. Wilson (Simon & Schuster)
  • Home Fires, Gene Wolfe (Tor)
  • Seed, Rob Ziegler (Night Shade)

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

  • “The Copenhagen Interpretation”, Paul Cornell (Asimov’s 7/11)
  • “Ghostweight”, Yoon Ha Lee (Clarkesworld 1/11)
  • “The Old Equations”, Jake Kerr (Lightspeed 7/11)
  • “The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary”, Ken Liu (Panverse Three)
  • Silently and Very Fast, Catherynne M. Valente (WSFA; Clarkesworld 10/11)

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.