The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for July, 2012

Readercon Responds to Harassment Complaint

The Readercon Board of Directors released an official statement on Friday announcing their decision to suspend an accused sexual harrasser’s membership for two years, in response to a complaint of sexual harassment filed against him after this year’s convention. The board’s decision to suspend him, rather than ban him permanently, was based on the accused’s […]

Part-time Online Job Opening at Eastern Kentucky University

Eastern Kentucky University is looking for a science fiction/fantasy writer with an MFA in creative writing to teach an online writing course this fall. Currently they are only offering a part-time, temporary position, although they hope to offer more courses in the future. For more information, see the EKU job site.

Le Guin, Lee, and Harryhausen to Receive Eaton Awards

Writer Ursula K. Le Guin, comics legend Stan Lee, and special effects pioneer Ray Harryhausen will receive Eaton Awards for Lifetime Achievement in Science Fiction, awarded by the University of California, Riverside. The awards will be presented at the 2013 Eaton Science Fiction Conference, to be held April 11-14, 2013, in Riverside CA.

2012 Booker Prize

The longlist for the Man Booker Prize includes three titles of interest to SF/fantasy readers: The Teleportation Accident, Ned Beauman (Sceptre) Umbrella, Will Self (Bloomsbury) Communion Town, Sam Thompson (Fourth Estate) The Booker is awarded to the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth, or the Republic […]

Margaret Mahy (1936-2012)

Children’s writer Margaret Mahy, 76, died July 23, 2012 in Christchurch, New Zealand. Mahy wrote about 40 novels, more than a hundred picture books, and published 20 collections of short stories. Most of her work for young adults had supernatural or SF elements, notably World Fantasy Award nominee The Tricksters (1986), Carnegie Medal winners The […]

2012 SF&F Translation Award Winners

The Association for the Recognition of Excellence in SF&F Translation (ARESFFT) announced the winners for the 2012 Science Fiction and Fantasy Translation Awards for works published in 2011. LONG FORM WINNER Zero, Huang Fan, translated from the Chinese by John Balcom (Columbia University) LONG FORM HONORABLE MENTIONS Good Luck, Yukikaze, Chohei Kambayashi, translated from the […]

Garner and Martin to Receive World Fantasy Life Achievement Awards

The World Fantasy Convention has announced the 2012 World Fantasy Life Achievement Awards will go to Alan Garner and George R.R. Martin. The awards will be presented during the World Fantasy Awards ceremony on Sunday, November 4, 2012. More information about the recipients can be found at the WFC 2012 site. The convention will take place […]

Suzanne Allés Blom (1948-2012)

Author Suzanne Allés Blom, 64, died June 23, 2012 from complications of intestinal cancer. Blom is best known for her alternate-history novel Inca (2000). She also published SF story “In the Memory of Prince Edward” (1993). Born March 29, 1948, Blom grew up in Minneapolis/St. Paul. She attended college in Sioux City IA, studying ancient […]

2012 Rhysling Awards Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association (SFPA) has announced the winners of the annual Rhysling Awards for science fiction, fantasy, and horror poetry, short and long form. This year’s winners are: Short Poem First Place “The Library, After”, Shira Lipkin (Mythic Delirium 6/11) Second Place “The Lend”, Erik Amundsen (Stone Telling 9/11) Third Place “In Translation”, Lyn C.A. Gardner (Tales of […]

2012 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award

Fredric Brown (1906-1972) is the winner of the 2012 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award, intended to bring attention to lesser-known SF and fantasy authors. The award was announced at Readercon 23, held July 12-15, 2012 in Burlington MA. Brown was known for his mastery of the short story, with “Arena” and “Knock” among his most famous; […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.