The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Angela Carter Novel Wins Best-of-the-Best Award

Angela Carter’s novel Nights at the Circus (1984) was named the best-ever winner of Britain’s oldest literary prize, the James Tait Black Award, given annually since 1919.

Students studying at Edinburgh University narrowed the list of best winners to these finalists: Nights at the Circus by Angela Carter,  The Heart of the Matter by Graham Greene, A Disaffection by James Kelman, The Road by Cormac McCarthy, Crossing the River by Caryl Phillips, and The Madelbaum Gate by Muriel Spark. The winner was chosen by a judging panel in honor of the 250th anniversary of the university’s literature studies program.

For more, see the article at The Guardian.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.