The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

First Annual Copper Cylinder Awards

The Sunburst Award Society has announced the winners of its newest literary award, the Copper Cylinder Award. The Copper Cylinder Award is an annual award, selected by members of the Sunburst Award Society, for books published the previous year. To be eligible, the work must meet all the criteria for the society’s other award, the Sunburst Awards for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic.

The first winner of the 2012 Copper Cylinder Adult Award is Among Others by Jo Walton (Tor); the first winner of the 2012 Copper Cylinder Young Adult Award is Once Every Never by Lesley Livingston (Penguin Canada).

The award’s name comes from the first Canadian scientific romance, “A Strange Manuscript Found in a Copper Cylinder” by James De Mille. The winners receive a handcrafted copper cylinder trophy. For more, see the Copper Cylinder Awards website.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.