The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2012 BSFA Shortlist

The 2012 BSFA Awards shortlist has been announced:

Best Novel

  • Dark Eden, Chris Beckett (Corvus)
  • Empty Space: a Haunting, M. John Harrison (Gollancz)
  • Intrusion, Ken Macleod (Orbit)
  • Jack Glass, Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
  • 2312, Kim Stanley-Robinson (Orbit)

Best Short Fiction

Best Non-Fiction

  • “The Complexity of the Humble Space Suit”, Karen Burnham (Rocket Science)
  • The Widening Gyre”, Paul Kincaid (Los Angeles Review of Books)
  • The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature, Edward James & Farah Mendlesohn (Cambridge University Press)
  • The Shortlist Project, Maureen Kincaid Speller
  • The World SF Blog, Lavie Tidhar (chief editor)

Best Art

  • Ben Baldwin for cover of Dark Currents (Newcon)
  • Blacksheep for cover of Adam Roberts’s Jack Glass (Gollancz)
  • Dominic Harman for cover of Eric Brown’s Helix Wars  (Rebellion)
  • Joey Hifi for cover of Simon Morden’s Thy Kingdom Come (Jurassic London)
  • Si Scott for cover artwork of Chris Beckett’s Dark Eden (Corvus)

The awards will be voted on by members of BSFA and the British Annual Science Fiction Convention (Eastercon). Winners will be announced during the 2013 Eastercon, March 29 – April 1, 2013 at the  Cedar Court Hotel, Bradford.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.