The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2012 Kitschies Nominees

Finalists for the 2012 Kitschies, awarded to “the year’s most progressive, intelligent, and entertaining works of genre literature published in the UK,” have been announced.

Red Tentacle (Novel)

  • The Folly of the World, Jesse Bullington (Orbit)
  • A Face Like Glass, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan)
  • Angelmaker, Nick Harkaway (William Heinemann)
  • Jack Glass, Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
  • The Method, Juli Zeh, translated by Sally-Ann Spencer (Harvill Secker)

Golden Tentacle (Debut Novel)

  • vN, Madeline Ashby (Angry Robot)
  • The Panopticon, Jenni Fagan (William Heinemann)
  • Seraphina, Rachel Hartman (Doubleday)
  • Redemption in Indigo, Karen Lord (Jo Fletcher)
  • The City’s Son, Tom Pollock (Jo Fletcher)

Inky Tentacle (Cover Art)

  • La Boca for Ned Beauman’s The Teleportation Accident (Sceptre)
  • Oliver Jeffers for John Boyne’s The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket (Doubleday)
  • Tom Gauld for Matthew Hughes’s Costume Not Included (Angry Robot)
  • Peter Mendelsund for Ben Marcus’s Flame Alphabet (Granta)
  • Dave Shelton for his own A Boy and a Bear in a Boat (David Fickling)

The winner of the Red Tentacle will receive £1,000, and winners of the Golden Tentacle and Inky Tentacle will win £500 each. All finalists will receive a hand-crafted trophy and a bottle of rum from award sponsor The Kraken Rum.

Finalists were chosen from over 200 submissions sent by over 40 publishers/imprints. Fiction winners will be selected by judges Rebecca Levene, Patrick Ness, and Jared Shurin. Judges for the art award are Gary Northfield, Lauren O’Farrell, and Ed Warren.

The 2012 winners will be announced in a ceremony February 26, 2013 at the Free Word Centre, London. For more:

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.