The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

AEVVA Award Winner Announced

Alphanauts by Brian J. Clarke (Edge) won the inaugural A.E. van Vogt Award (AEVVA) for 2012 — awarded to a first edition full-length science fiction novel or anthology, written by an author linked to Western Canada by birth or residency. The award was announced on January 2, 2013, and a website with more information is forthcoming. The other finalists were The Other by Matthew Hughes (Underland) and Lady of Mazes by Karl Schroeder (Tor).

The award is sponsored by the Winnipeg Science Fiction Association; Conadian, the 1994 Worldcon; and Science Fiction Winnipeg. It was named after A.E. van Vogt, Canada’s only Grand Master SF author. The winner will receive a C$1,200 cash award and a certificate.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.