The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for February, 2013

2012 Kitschies Winners

Winners for the 2012 Kitschies, awarded to “the year’s most progressive, intelligent, and entertaining works of genre literature published in the UK,” were announced last night at a ceremony held at the Free World Centre in Farringdon, London. Red Tentacle (Novel) Angelmaker, Nick Harkaway (William Heinemann) The Folly of the World, Jesse Bullington (Orbit) A […]

Jan Howard Finder, AKA “The Wombat” (1939-2013)

Editor, author, and fan Jan Howard Finder, AKA “The Wombat,” 73, died February 25, 2013 in an Albany NY hospital of complications related to cancer. Finder was active in SF fandom and was well known as an expert on J.R.R. Tolkien, organizing the “First Conference on Middle-earth” in 1969, a second conference in 1971, and a […]

LA Times Book Prize Finalists

The Los Angeles Times announced the finalists for their 33rd annual Book Prize. Fifty books in ten categories are in the running. Works of genre note, or by authors of interest, include Michael Chabon for Telegraph Avenue (HarperCollins) and Lydia Millet for Magnificence (W.W. Norton)  in Fiction, Nick Harkaway for Angelmaker (Knopf) in Mystery/Thriller, and Paolo […]

2012 Stoker Awards Final Ballot

The 2012 Stoker Final Ballot has been released by the Horror Writers Association: Superior Achievement in a Novel Bottled Abyss, Benjamin Kane Ethridge (Redrum Horror) NightWhere, John Everson (Samhain) The Drowning Girl, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Roc) The Haunted, Bentley Little (Signet) Inheritance, Joe McKinney (Evil Jester) Superior Achievement in a First Novel Charlotte Markham and the House […]

Dozois Joins Clarkesworld

Beginning in April Gardner Dozois will be reprint editor for Clarkesworld Magazine. He will choose two SF stories a month to reprint. Editor-in-Chief Neil Clarke says: “Since my heart attack last year, when readers responded with encouragement and support, I’ve been trying to find a way to say ‘thank you’. The reprint department had been […]

Daniel Pearlman (1935-2013)

Author Daniel Pearlman, 77, died February 18, 2013 in Providence RI of an aortic aneurysm. Pearlman published short SF in magazines and anthologies regularly throughout the ’80s, ’90s, and beyond. Some of his stories were collected in The Final Dream & Other Fictions (1995), The Best-Known Man in the World & Other Misfits (2001), and […]

2012 Nebula Awards Nominees Announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America has announced the nominees for the 2012 Nebula Awards (presented 2013), the nominees for the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, and the nominees for the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book. Novel Throne of the Crescent Moon, Saladin Ahmed (DAW; […]

Random Penguin Merger Approved

The merger of Penguin and Random House has been approved by the US Department of Justice. The DoJ notified Bertelsmann and Pearson “that it has closed its investigation into the proposed merger of Penguin and Random House, without conditions,” according to a statement. The approval comes just under four months after the deal was announced, […]

Anne Jordan (1943-2013)

Anne Jordan, 69, former managing editor of F&SF, died February 2, 2013 after battling lung cancer. Anne Devereaux Wilson Jordan Crouse was an editor at The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction from 1979-1989.  She was the author or editor of 11 books, including anthology Fires of the Past: Thirteen Contemporary Fantasies About Hometowns (1991). She reviewed […]

HWA Lifetime Achievement Awards

Clive Barker and Robert McCammon will be awarded Lifetime Achievement Awards by the Horror Writers Association. The awards will be presented at the World Horror Convention in New Orleans LA on June 15, 2013.  Robert McCammon will be in attendance and Mark Miller will accept for Clive Barker. For more information, see the HWA announcement.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.