The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2012 Kitschies Winners

Winners for the 2012 Kitschies, awarded to “the year’s most progressive, intelligent, and entertaining works of genre literature published in the UK,” were announced last night at a ceremony held at the Free World Centre in Farringdon, London.

Red Tentacle (Novel)

Golden Tentacle(Debut Novel)

Inky Tentacle (Cover Art)

  • Dave Shelton for his own A Boy and a Bear in a Boat (David Fickling)
  • La Boca for Ned Beauman’s The Teleportation Accident (Sceptre)
  • Oliver Jeffers for John Boyne’s The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket (Doubleday)
  • Tom Gauld for Matthew Hughes’s Costume Not Included (Angry Robot)
  • Peter Mendelsund for Ben Marcus’s Flame Alphabet (Granta)

There was also a discretionary prize for outstanding contribution to the conversation surrounding genre literature, The Black Tentacle, which was awarded to The World SF Blog.

The winner of the Red Tentacle received £1,000, and winners of the Golden Tentacle and Inky Tentacle won £500 each. All finalists received a hand-crafted trophy and a bottle of rum from award sponsor The Kraken Rum.

Finalists were chosen from over 200 submissions sent by over 40 publishers/imprints. Fiction winners were selected by judges Rebecca Levene, Patrick Ness, and Jared Shurin. Judges for the art award are Gary Northfield, Lauren O’Farrell, and Ed Warren.

For more:

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.