The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

LA Times Book Prize Finalists

The Los Angeles Times announced the finalists for their 33rd annual Book Prize. Fifty books in ten categories are in the running.

Works of genre note, or by authors of interest, include Michael Chabon for Telegraph Avenue (HarperCollins) and Lydia Millet for Magnificence (W.W. Norton)  in Fiction, Nick Harkaway for Angelmaker (Knopf) in Mystery/Thriller, and Paolo Bacigalupi for Drowned Cities (Little, Brown) in Young Adult Literature. Margaret Atwood will receive the Innovator’s Award for her efforts to push narrative form.

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on April 19, 2013, immediately preceding the Los Angeles Times Festival of Books, April 20-21 at USC’s Bovard Auditorium, Los Angeles CA. For more information and a complete list of nominees, see the story in the Los Angeles Times.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.