The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Terry Pratchett Prize Shortlist

The Terry Pratchett Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now First Novel Prize shortlist has been announced:

  • The Unspoken Death of the Amazing Flying Boy by Jean Burdett
  • Bloodline by Sophie Constable
  • The Hive by Alexander Maskill
  • The Way Through the Woods by Robin Pearson
  • A Kill in the Morning by Graeme Shimmin
  • The Shadows of Annwn by Catherine Whittle

The award, launched in 2010 by Terry Pratchett and Transworld, is for an unpublished first novel “set on Earth, although it may be an Earth that might have been, or might yet be, one that has gone down a different leg of the famous trousers of time.”

The winning writer will be offered a £20,000 prize as an advance against royalties on a publishing contract.

Judges will be Terry Pratchett; Rob Wilkins; Alex Veasey from Forbidden Planet; Simon Taylor, Editorial Director at Transworld; and Lynsey Dalladay, Pratchett’s publicist. The winner will be announced May 31, 2013.

Contest details are available at Pratchett’s official website.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.