The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for June, 2013

Locus Awards Winners

The winners of the 2013 Locus Awards have been announced:   SCIENCE FICTION NOVEL Redshirts, John Scalzi (Tor; Gollancz) The Hydrogen Sonata, Iain M. Banks (Orbit US; Orbit UK) Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen) Caliban’s War, James S.A. Corey (Orbit US; Orbit UK) 2312, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit US; Orbit UK) FANTASY NOVEL […]

2013 Andre Norton Judges Announced

The judges for the 2013 Andre Norton Award are Merrie Haskell (chair), Christopher Barzak, Jeri Smith-Ready, Corinne Schmidt, Guy Stewart, Cat Rambo, and Katherine Sparrow. Books will be accepted for consideration until January 31, 2014, and any young adult SF/F book first published in English in 2013 is eligible. The Andre Norton Award for Young […]

Richard Matheson (1926-2013)

Renowned SF, fantasy, and horror writer Richard Matheson, 87, died June 23, 2013 at home. Matheson is the author of classic SF novels I Am Legend (1954) and The Shrinking Man (1956), among numerous other books. Many of his iconic works have become abiding parts of popular culture. Matheson’s career as a writer is inextricably entwined […]

2013 Science Fiction Hall of Fame Inductees

The 2013 inductees to the Science Fiction Hall of Fame are David Bowie, H.R. Giger, Judith Merril, Joanna Russ, and J.R.R Tolkien. The Science Fiction Hall of Fame was founded in 1996 and then relocated from the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction and Fantasy at the University of  Kansas to its permanent […]

Parke Godwin (1929-2013)

Author Parke Godwin, 84, died on June 19, 2013 in Auburn CA. Godwin’s novella “The Fire When it Comes” (1981) was nominated for both Hugo and Nebula Awards and won a World Fantasy Award. Some of Godwin’s stories were collected in World Fantasy Award finalist The Fire When it Comes (1984). Story “Influencing the Hell […]

2013 British Fantasy Award Nominees

The British Fantasy Society has announced the finalists for the 2013 British Fantasy Awards. The nominees are: Best Novel (the August Derleth Fantasy Award) Red Country, Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz) Some Kind of Fairy Tale, Graham Joyce (Gollancz) The Brides of Rollrock Island, Margo Lanagan (David Fickling) Railsea, China Miéville (Macmillan) Blood and Feathers, Lou Morgan (Solaris) Best […]

Campbell and Sturgeon Award Winners

Jack Glass: The Story of a Murderer by Adam Roberts (Gollancz) won this year’s John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel published in 2012, and Molly Gloss’s “The Grinnell Method” (Strange Horizons 9/3/12 & 9/10/12) is the winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for best short fiction of 2012. Any Day Now by Terry Bisson (Overlook) was the […]

2012 Stoker Awards Winners

The 2012 Bram Stoker Awards have been announced. Superior Achievement in a Novel The Drowning Girl, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Roc) Bottled Abyss, Benjamin Kane Ethridge (Redrum Horror) NightWhere, John Everson (Samhain) The Haunted, Bentley Little (Signet) Inheritance, Joe McKinney (Evil Jester) Superior Achievement in a First Novel Life Rage, L.L. Soares (Nightscape) Charlotte Markham and the House […]

Iain Banks (1954-2013)

Author Iain Banks, 59, who wrote SF as Iain M. Banks, died June 9, 2013, just two months after announcing that he had been diagnosed with terminal cancer. Iain Menzies Banks was born February 16, 1954 in Dunfermline, Fife, Scotland. He is best known in SF circles for his brilliant Culture novels, about an anarchistic, post-scarcity, […]

25th Annual Lambda Awards Winners

The Lambda Literary Foundation has announced the winners for the 25th Annual Lambda Literary Awards, celebrating excellence in LGBT literature in a wide variety of categories, including SF: SF/Fantasy/Horror Green Thumb, Tom Cardamone (Lethe) The Survivors, Sean Eads (Lethe) Night Shadows: Queer Horror, Greg Herren & J.M. Redmann, eds. (Bold Strokes) Chocolatiers of the High […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.