The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for July, 2013

Rowling Pseudonym Settlement

J.K. Rowling was offered a public apology in court and received “substantial damages” — in the form of a charitable donation — from UK law firm Russells on July 31, 2013. Rowling took legal action against Russells because their employee Chris Gossage, then one of Rowling’s attorneys, told his wife’s friend Judith Callegari that Robert […]

Garyn G. Roberts Wins 2013 Munsey Award

Editor and writer Garyn G. Roberts won the 2013 Munsey Award  for contributions to the pulp community, presented July 27, 2013 at Pulpfest in Columbus OH. For more, see

Mick Farren (1943-2013)

Author and musician Mick Farren, 69, died July 27, 2013, collapsing on stage during a show with his band The Deviants in London. Farren began writing SF with The Texts of Festival (1973). His series work includes the SF Jeb Stuart Ho trilogy, urban fantasy sequence Time of Feasting, and the Flame of Evil series. Additional works […]

Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship

The Center for the Study of Women in Society is celebrating its 40th Anniversary by creating the Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship. The Fellowship will be realized through a collaboration between the University of Oregon Knight Library, the Robert D. Clark Honors College (CHC), and the Center for the Study of Women in Society. […]

2013 Scribe Award Winners

The International Association of Media Tie-in Writers announced the winners for the 2013 Scribe Awards, honoring excellence in licensed tie-in writing: Original Novel Tannhäuser: Rising Sun, Falling Shadows, Robert T. Jeschonek (Fantasy Flight Games) Star Trek: Rings of Time, Greg Cox (Pocket) Star Trek: The Next Generation: Cold Equations Book 1: The Persistence of Memory, David […]

2013 Prometheus Award Winners

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the 2013 Prometheus Award winners: Best Novel: Pirate Cinema, Cory Doctorow (Tor) Arctic Rising, Tobias Buckell (Tor) The Unincorporated Future, Dani & Eytan Kollin (Tor) Darkship Renegades, Sarah Hoyt (Baen) Kill Decision, Daniel Suarez (Dutton) Hall of Fame: Cryptonomicon, Neal Stephenson (1999) “Sam Hall”, Poul Anderson (1953) Falling Free, […]

2013 Seiun Award Winners

Winners of the 2013 Seiun Awards, the Japanese equivalent to the Hugo Awards, were announced July 20, 2013 at Varicon 2013, the 52nd Japanese national SF convention in Japan. Best Japanese Novel: The Empire of Corpses, Project Itoh & Enjoe Toh (Kawade Shobo Shinsha) Best Japanese Short Story: “Ima Shuugouteki Muishikio”, Chohei Kanbayashi (Hayakawa) Best Translated Novel: […]

2013 Sunburst Award Shortlist

Finalists for the 13th annual Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic have been announced: Adult: Finton Moon, Gerard Collins (Killick) Maleficium, Martine Desjardins; translated by Fred A. Reed & David Homel  (Talonbooks) Over the Darkened Landscape, Derryl Murphy (Fairwood) The Blondes, Emily Schultz (Doubleday Canada) Westlake Soul, Rio Youers (ChiZine) Young […]

2013 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award

Wyman Guin (1915-1989) is the winner of the 2013 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award, intended to bring attention to lesser-known SF and fantasy authors. This year’s judges were Barry Malzberg, Mike Resnick, Robert J. Sawyer, and Elizabeth Hand. The award was announced at Readercon 24, held July 11-14, 2013 in Burlington MA. Guin was best known […]

2013 Mythopoeic Award Winners

The Mythopoeic Society announced the 2013 Mythopoeic Award winners at Mythcon 44, on July 14, 2013, in East Lansing MI: MYTHOPOEIC FANTASY AWARD FOR ADULT LITERATURE Digger, volumes 1-6, Ursula Vernon (Sofawolf) The Weirdstone trilogy: The Weirdstone of Brisingamen (Collins), The Moon of Gomrath (Collins), and Boneland (Fourth Estate), Alan Garner The Drowning Girl, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Roc) Death and […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.