The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2013 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award

Wyman Guin (1915-1989) is the winner of the 2013 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award, intended to bring attention to lesser-known SF and fantasy authors. This year’s judges were Barry Malzberg, Mike Resnick, Robert J. Sawyer, and Elizabeth Hand. The award was announced at Readercon 24, held July 11-14, 2013 in Burlington MA.

Guin was best known for his novella, “Beyond Bedlam”, which John Clute, who presented this year’s award, described as “a savage, funny, sad novella that needs to be remembered.” Guin also published one novel: The Standing Joy (1969).

For more information, see SF Scope.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.