The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for December, 2013

Gaiman Wins Book of the Year

Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane was crowned Specsavers Book of the Year for 2013, given to the best book published in the UK, as chosen by popular vote. Gaiman’s book won by a “considerable margin.” For more, see the article at Specsavers.

SF Signal Hacked

SF Signal was hacked over the weekend, and is still experiencing some technical issues, though they should be resolved soon. The main problem was identified and fixed on Saturday, but  Google red-flagged the site as containing malware, so visitors may have seen a warning to that effect even after the problem was resolved. Editor John DeNardo […]

SF Site Suspends Regular Updates

SF Site will suspend their twice-monthly publication schedule due to a decline in advertising. They will still “continue to post reviews, columns and interviews from time to time… We will maintain the web site and the server, and we will continue to post material as it comes our way — just not as twice-monthly issues, as we […]

Electric Velocipede and Icarus Closing

John Klima of Electric Velocipede and Steve Berman of Icarus: The Magazine of Gay Speculative Fiction announced recently that their magazines are closing. Electric Velocipede‘s final issue is #27. In his editorial, Klima explains: I have outstanding debt from running Electric Velocipede—and since the magazine can’t even support itself, it doesn’t make sense to keep it going […]

2011 Carl Brandon Award Winners

The Carl Brandon Society has announced that Redwood and Wildfire by Andrea Hairston and Smoketown by Tenea D. Johnson are the 2011 Carl Brandon Awards winners. Smoketown won the Carl Brandon Parallax Award, given to works of speculative fiction created by a self-identified person of color, and Redwood and Wildfire was awarded the Carl Brandon Kindred […]

Colin Wilson (1931-2013)

Writer Colin Wilson, 82, died December 5, 2013. Wilson wrote more than 150 books of fiction, criticism, philosophy, and assorted non-fiction during his career. His first core SF novel was The Mind Parasites (1967). Other novels of particular genre interest include The Glass Cage (1967); The Philosopher’s Stone (1969); The Space Vampires (1976; as Lifeforce, […]

SFWA Raises Qualification Pay Rates

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has raised the minimum pay rate necessary for short fiction markets to qualify authors for SFWA membership from five cents per word to six cents per word, effective July 1, 2014. This is the first time the rate has been increased since 2004, when it rose […]

Barker Wins 2013 Rotsler Award

Scottish fan artist Jim Barker has won the 2013 Rotsler Award for long-time artistic achievement in amateur science fiction publications. The award was announced on November 30, 2013 at Loscon 40 in Los Angeles, CA. The award is sponsored by the Southern California Institute for Fan Interests, and includes an honorarium of $300. This year’s […]

Amazon Launches Short Fiction Imprint

Amazon Publishing has launched a new short fiction imprint, StoryFront, which will feature short stories in all genres published exclusively for the Kindle. It will also publish stories originally seen in Amazon’s new weekly literary journal, Day One, and serve as a home for the journal. StoryFront launched with 43 stories, including genre stories by Rebecca […]

Delany Named Grand Master

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America have named Samuel R. Delany, 71, the recipient of the 2013 Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award. Delany is the author of many classic novels and short stories, an impressive body of criticism, and non-fiction on the art and craft of writing. He has won four Nebula Awards, […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.