The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2011 Carl Brandon Award Winners

The Carl Brandon Society has announced that Redwood and Wildfire by Andrea Hairston and Smoketown by Tenea D. Johnson are the 2011 Carl Brandon Awards winners. Smoketown won the Carl Brandon Parallax Award, given to works of speculative fiction created by a self-identified person of color, and Redwood and Wildfire was awarded the Carl Brandon Kindred Award, given to any work of speculative fiction dealing with issues of race and ethnicity. Each award winner will receive a $1000 cash prize. The awards will be presented at Arisia in Boston, January 17-20, 2014. Carl Brandon Awards nominations are open through March 2014 for works written in 2013.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.