The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for January, 2014

RUSA’s 2014 Reading List Winners

The selections for the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) 2014 Reading List have been announced. There were several genre categories included, winners were:  Vicious by V.E. Schwab (Tor) in the fantasy category, and Last Days by Adam Nevil (St. Martin’s Griffin) in the horror category, and Love Minus Eighty by Will MacIntosh (Orbit) in […]

2013 BSFA Shortlist

The 2013 BSFA Awards shortlist has been announced: Best Novel God’s War, Kameron Hurley (Del Rey) Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit) Evening’s Empires, Paul McAuley (Gollancz) Ack-Ack Macaque, Gareth L. Powell (Solaris) The Adjacent, Christopher Priest (Gollancz) Best Short Fiction Spin, Nina Allan (TTA Press) “Selkie Stories are for Losers,” Sofia Samatar (Strange Horizons) “Saga’s […]

2013 Apex Magazine Story of the Year

Brian Trent’s story “A Matter of Shapespace” was voted the 2013 Apex Magazine Story of the year by fans and readers of the magazine. You can read “A Matter of Shapespace” here.

DiCamillo Wins Newbery

Kate DiCamillo’s Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures (Candlewick) won the 2014 Newbery Medal, given by the Association for Library Service to Children (a division of the American Library Association) for last year’s outstanding American children’s book. The award was announced at the ALA Midwinter Meeting in Philadelphia PA.

Samatar Wins Crawford Award

The winner of the 2014 Crawford Memorial Award, presented annually by the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts for an outstanding first fantasy book, is Sofia Samatar’s A Stranger in Olondria (Small Beer Press). According to award administrator Gary K. Wolfe, the novel won broad support from the nominating committee.  The other books included […]

2013 Kitschies Shortlists

Finalists for the 2013 Kitschies, awarded to “the year’s most progressive, intelligent, and entertaining works of genre literature published in the U.K.” have been announced. Red Tentacle (Novel) Red Doc>, Anne Carson (Jonathan Cape) More Than This, Patrick Ness (Walker) A Tale for the Time Being, Ruth Ozeki (Canongate) Bleeding Edge, Thomas Pynchon (Jonathan Cape) […]

Mars Madness Exhibit in Arizona

The Mars Madness exhibit, subtitled “Sci-Fi, Popular Culture and Ray Bradbury’s Literary Journey to Outer Space” opened today and will be on display until August 1, 2014 in the Special Collections at the University of Arizona, 1510 E. University Blvd., Tucson, AZ. An array of Ray Bradbury material will be on display, including original works […]

New SF Imprint: Simon451

Simon & Schuster has announced the launch of a new adult SF/F imprint, Simon451. The imprint will publish both print and e-book formats, but will focus on e-book originals and digital-first publishing, and will also experiment with publishing short stories and serials, as well as reissuing backlist titles as e-books. Senior editor Sarah Knight will […]

Landis Wins 2014 Heinlein Award

Geoffrey A. Landis is the winner of the 2014 Robert A. Heinlein Award, given for outstanding published works in science fiction and technical writings that inspire the human exploration of space. Winners are chosen by a committee of SF authors chaired by Michael F. Flynn, and receive a plaque, a sterling silver medallion, and two […]

Neal Barrett, Jr. (1929-2014)

Neal Barrett, Jr., 84, author of acclaimed fantasy The Hereafter Gang (1991) and a number of celebrated short stories, among other works, died January 12, 2014. Barrett began publishing SF with “To Tell the Truth” in Galaxy (1960). His notable short fiction includes “Perpetuity Blues” (1987), Hugo and Nebula Award finalist “Ginny Sweethips’ Flying Circus” […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.