The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for February, 2014

Aaron Allston (1960-2014)

Aaron Allston, 53, suffered an apparent heart attack and collapsed at VisionCon in Springfield MO on February 27, 2014, and died later that day. Allston is best known for his extensive work in the Star Wars expanded universe, writing novels in the X-Wing, New Jedi Order, Legacy of the Force, and Fate of the Jedi series. […]

Washington Post Expands SF Coverage

Ron Charles, fiction review editor for the Washington Post‘s book section, has announced a new monthly review column of SF/fantasy titles, to be written by SF author Nancy Hightower. The Post is also adding a monthly romance column. Charles said, “For years, I’ve hemmed and hawed about how to cover genre fiction more consistently… Of course, we’ll never […]

HWA Lifetime Achievement Awards

Stephen Jones and R.L. Stine will be awarded Lifetime Achievement Awards by the Horror Writers Association. The awards will be presented at the World Horror Convention in Portland OR on May 10, 2014. For more information, see the HWA announcement.

2013 Nebula Awards Nominees Announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America has announced the nominees for the 2013 Nebula Awards (presented 2014), the nominees for the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, and the nominees for the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy. Novel We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, Karen Joy Fowler […]

2013 Stoker Final Ballot

The 2013 Stoker Final Ballot has been released by the Horror Writers Association: Superior Achievement in a Novel NOS4A2, Joe Hill (Morrow) Doctor Sleep, Stephen King (Scribner) Malediction, Lisa Morton (Evil Jester) A Necessary End, Sarah Pinborough & F. Paul Wilson (Thunderstorm/Maelstrom) The Heavens Rise, Christopher Rice (Gallery) Superior Achievement in a First Novel Candy House, Kate Jonez (Evil Jester) […]

2014 Philip K. Dick Award Judges

The five judges for the 2014 Philip K. Dick Award have been announced. Works of science fiction originally published as paperbacks in the US during the year 2014 are eligible for the award. Jon Armstrong, 1876 Willoughby Avenue, Ridgewood NY 11385-1153 Ritch Calvin, Department of Cultural Analysis and Theory, 2119 Humanities, SUNY Stony Brook, Stony Brook […]

Best American SF & F

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt has announced a new addition to their annual “Best American” anthology series: The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy. John Joseph Adams will serve as series editor, and Joe Hill will be guest editor for the first volume, collecting work published in 2014, to be published in October 2015. For more:

Beijing and Kansas City Worldcon Bids

Two bids have been formally filed to host the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, to be held in 2016: Beijing, China and Kansas City MO. Chinese fan organization the Future Affairs Administration proposes to hold the Worldcon at the China National Convention Center in Beijing from August 14-19, 2016. Their bid website is at […]

2014 Audie Awards Finalists

The Audio Publishers Association has announced the 2014 Audie Awards finalists, recognizing excellence in audiobooks and spoken word entertainment. Following is a list of those Audie finalists of genre interest: Audio Drama The Fall of the Kings, Ellen Kushner & Delia Sherman, narrated by Ellen Kushner, Neil Gaiman, Katherine Kellgren, Simon Jones, Richard Ferrone, Robert […]

2013 Aurealis Awards Finalists

Finalists have been announced for the 2013 Aurealis Awards, honoring SF, fantasy, and horror by Australians: Best Science Fiction Novel Lexicon, Max Barry (Hachette) Trucksong, Andrew Macrae (Twelfth Planet) A Wrong Turn at the Office of Unmade Lists, Jane Rawson (Transit Lounge) True Path, Graham Storrs (Momentum) Rupetta, Nike Sulway (Tartarus) Best Science Fiction Short […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.