The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for April, 2014

2014 Aurora Award Nominees

Finalists for the 2014 Prix Aurora Awards, celebrating the best Canadian SF/fantasy work, have been announced. PROFESSIONAL AWARDS Best Novel – English A Turn of Light, Julie E. Czerneda (DAW) Tombstone Blues, Chadwick Ginther (Ravenstone) River of Stars, Guy Gavriel Kay (Viking Canada) The Tattooed Witch, Susan MacGregor (Five Rivers) Red Planet Blues, Robert J. Sawyer […]

2014 Andre Norton Judges Announced

The judges for the 2014 Andre Norton Award are Katherine Sparrow (chair), Christopher Barzak, Erin M. Hartshorn, Merrie Haskell, Jenn Reese, Rachel Swirsky, and Greg van Eekhout. Books will be accepted for consideration until January 31, 2015, and any young adult SF/F book first published in English in 2014 is eligible. The Andre Norton Award […]

Armstrong Wins SFWA Service Award

SFWA announced that Michael Armstrong has been named the recipient of the 2014 Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award. The award is given at the discretion of the president and with board approval to a member of SFWA who best exemplifies the ideal of service to his or her fellow members. Armstrong is being […]

William H. Patterson Jr. (1951-2014)

Writer and critic William H. Patterson, Jr., 62, died April 22, 2014. Patterson was an expert on the works of Robert A. Heinlein, and was chosen by Heinlein’s widow Virginia Heinlein to write the authorized biography. Robert A. Heinlein: In Dialogue With His Century, Vol. 1 (1907-1948): Learning Curve appeared in 2011, and was a […]

Gannon wins Compton Crook Award

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society has announced that Charles Gannon’s Fire With Fire (Baen) is the winner of the 2014 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award. The award, which honors the best first SF/fantasy/horror novel of the year, will be presented at Balticon 48, May 23-26, 2014, where Gannon will receive an award plaque and check for $1,000, during the convention’s opening […]

The 2014 David Gemmell Awards Shortlist

The 2014 David Gemmell Legend Awards finalists have been announced: The Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel The Daylight War, Peter V Brett (Harper Collins UK) Emperor of Thorns, Mark Lawrence (Harper Collins UK) The Republic of Thieves, Scott Lynch (Gollancz) A Memory of Light, Brandon Sanderson & Robert Jordan (Tor/Forge) War Master’s Gate, Adrian […]

Winters Wins Philip K. Dick Award

Countdown City by Ben Winters (Quirk) is the winner of the 2013 Philip K. Dick Award, announced on Friday, April 18, 2014, at Norwescon 37 in SeaTac WA. Self-Reference Engine by Toh EnJoe, translated by Terry Gallagher (Haikasoru) received a special citation. The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for […]

2013 BSFA Awards Winners

The BSFA Awards winners were announced during Eastercon 65 in Glasgow, held from April 18-21, 2014. Best Novel (tie) Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit) Ack-Ack Macaque, Gareth L. Powell (Solaris) God’s War, Kameron Hurley (Del Rey) Evening’s Empires, Paul McAuley (Gollancz) The Adjacent, Christopher Priest (Gollancz) Best Short Fiction Spin, Nina Allan (TTA Press) “Selkie […]

Andy Robertson (1955-2014)

British editor and author Andy Robertson, 58, died April 17, 2014, after suffering a heart attack and a stroke in the hospital. Andy W. Robertson was born November 30, 1955. He was involved with the development of Interzone early on, serving as assistant editor and contributing numerous reviews and interviews. He was one of the […]

2014 Hugo and Campbell Awards Finalists

Nominees for the Hugo Awards and for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer have been announced by LonCon 3, the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, to be held in London, England, August 14- 18, 2014. Best Novel (1,595 nominating ballots) Warbound, Larry Correia (Baen) Parasite, Mira Grant (Orbit US; Orbit UK) The […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.