The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for May, 2014

Kirkus announces three new literary awards

Kirkus Reviews has announced the creation of three new literary awards. Each prize is worth $50,000 and will recognize exemplary works in the categories of fiction, nonfiction, and young adult literature.   Only titles with a starred review in Kirkus will be eligible to win. The jurors for each category will consist of a writer, […]

New Imprint: will now be an imprint of Tor Books devoted to novellas, short novels, and serializations, to be published as e-books, print-on-demand volumes, and audiobooks. Unlike the free short fiction on, these works will be available for purchase only. Authors will be offered the choice of being paid a traditional advance against net earnings, or […]

Yolen Receives NEPR Award

Jane Yolen was presented with the 2014 New England Public Radio Award for the Arts and Humanities Award on May 12, 2014 at the Arts & Humanities Award Gala in Holyoke MA. The award “recognizes the contributions of local talent, and brings greater public awareness to the critical role played by musicians, artists, dancers, actors, […]

Perry Wins Kim Scott Walwyn Prize

Hodder & Stoughton editor and Kitschies Awards co-founder Anne Perry was awarded the Kim Scott Walwyn Prize, recognizing “professional achievements and promise of women who have worked in publishing in the UK for up to seven years”, at the Free Word Centre in Farringdon London on May 13, 2014. The award consists of a £1,000, […]

Pomerico Joins Harper Voyager

David Pomerico will be executive editor at Harper Voyager beginning May 28, 2014, reporting to senior vice president, executive editor, and director of editorial development Jennifer Brehl. He will oversee the day-to-day editorial operations of Harper Voyager US. Pomerico got his start at Random House, worked for Bantam Spectra and Del Rey, and most recently spent […]

Baen Memorial Contest Winners

Winners have been announced for the 2014 Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest. Grand Prize: “Low Arc”, Sean Monaghan 2nd Place: “Balance”, Marina J. Lostetter 3rd Place: “Wind Shear”, Angus McIntyre The winning story will be featured on the Baen Books website and paid professional publication rates. The contest is sponsored by Baen and the National […]

2013 John W. Campbell Memorial Award Finalists

The 2013 John W. Campbell Memorial Award finalists have been named: Lexicon, Max Barry (Penguin) Proxima, Stephen Baxter (Gollancz) The Circle, Dave Eggers (Knopf) We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, Karen Joy Fowler (Marian Wood/Putnam) Hild, Nicola Griffith (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux) The Cusanus Game, Wolfgang Jeschke (Tor) Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit) The Disestablishment […]

2013 Asimov’s Readers’ and Analog AnLab Awards

The 2013 Analog AnLab Awards and the Asimov’s Readers’ Awards were presented at a breakfast celebration during the Nebula Awards Weekend, May 16 – 18, 2014  in San Jose CA. The Analog AnLab Awards winners are: Best Novella “The Chaplain’s Legacy”, Brad R. Torgersen (7-8/13) Best Novelette “Buddha Nature”, Amy Thomson (1-2/13) Best Short Story “The […]

Frank M. Robinson Receives Nebula Special Honoree Award

Frank M. Robinson was slated to receive the Special Honoree award during the Nebula Awards banquet, held May 16-18, 2014 in San Jose CA at the Nebula Awards Weekend. However, “due to a combination of unintentional missteps” the Special Honoree award was not included on the ceremony list. SFWA president Steven Gould has posted an […]

2013 Nebula Awards Winners

The 2013 Nebula Awards were presented May 17, 2014 in a ceremony at  SFWA’s 49th Annual Nebula Awards Weekend, held in San Jose CA. Samuel R. Delany was honored with the 2013 Damon Knight Grand Master Award for his lifetime contributions and achievements in the field. Novel Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK) We […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.