The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2013 Shirley Jackson Award Nominees

The 2013 Shirley Jackson Awards nominees have been announced. The awards are presented for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction.


  • American Elsewhere, Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit)
  • The Ghost Bride, Yangsze Choo (William Morrow)
  • The Accursed, Joyce Carol Oates (Ecco)
  • Night Film, Marisha Pessl (Random House)
  • The Demonologist, Andrew Pyper (Orion UK; Simon & Schuster US)
  • Wild Fell, Michael Rowe (ChiZine)


  • “The Gateway”, Nina Allan (Stardust)
  • The Last Revelation of Gla’aki, Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)
  • Children of No One, Nicole Cushing (DarkFuse)
  • Whom the Gods Would Destroy, Brian Hodge (DarkFuse)
  • It Sustains, Mark Morris (Earthling)
  • Helen’s Story, Rosanne Rabinowitz (PS Publishing)
  • “Burning Girls”, Veronica Schanoes ( 6/13)


  • “My Heart is Either Broken”, Megan Abbott (Dangerous Women)
  • Cry Murder! In a Small Voice, Greer Gilman (Small Beer)
  • “A Little of the Night”, Tanith Lee (Clockwork Phoenix 4)
  • “Phosphorus”, Veronica Schanoes (Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells)
  • “Raptors”, Conrad Williams (Subterranean Winter 2013)


  • “The Traditional”, Maria Dahvana Headley (Lightspeed 5/13)
  • “Furnace”, Livia Llewellyn (The Grimscribe’s Puppets)
  • “The Memory Book”, Maureen McHugh (Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells: An Anthology of Gaslamp Fantasy)
  • “57 Reasons for the Slate Quarry Suicides”, Sam J. Miller (Nightmare 12/13)
  • “The Statue in the Garden”, Paul Park (Exotic Gothic 5)
  • “That Tiny Flutter of the Heart”, Robert Shearman (Psycho-Mania!)


  • North American Lake Monsters, Nathan Ballingrud (Small Beer)
  • Before and Afterlives, Christopher Barzak (Lethe)
  • In Search of and Others, Will Ludwigsen (Lethe)
  • The Story Until Now, Kit Reed (Wesleyan)
  • Everything You Need, Michael Marshall Smith (Earthling)


  • Where thy Dark Eye Glances: Queering Edgar Allan Poe, Steve Berman, ed. (Lethe)
  • Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
  • End of the Road, Jonathan Oliver, ed. (Solaris)
  • The Grimscribe’s Puppets, Joseph S. Pulver, Sr., ed. (Miskatonic River)
  • The Book of the Dead, Jared Shurin, ed. (Jurassic London)

The awards will be presented on on Sunday, July 13, 2014 at Readercon 25 in Burlington MA.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.