The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Vinge to Receive Special Prometheus Award

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced that Vernor Vinge will receive a Special Prometheus Award for lifetime achievement in 2014.

Vinge has received four previous Prometheus Awards, two in the Best Novel category (in 1987 for Marooned in Realtime and in 2000 for A Deepness in the Sky) and two Hall of Fame Awards (in 2004 for “The Ungoverned” and in 2007 for “True Names”). The LFS has only presented one previous Special Prometheus Award for lifetime achievement, to Poul Anderson in 2001.

Vinge will join F. Paul Wilson and L. Neil Smith, both also multiple Prometheus Award winners, as guests at Marcon, May 8-10, 2015 at the Hyatt Regency Columbus and Convention Center in Columbus Ohio. For more information, visit the LFS site.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.