The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for June, 2014

Kay Awarded Order of Canada

Guy Gavriel Kay, 59,  has been made a Member of the Order of Canada for his “outstanding contributions to the field of speculative fiction as an internationally celebrated author.” The Order was established in 1967 and recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community, and service to Canada. See the official announcement here.

Frank M. Robinson (1926-2014)

Author, editor, and pulp magazine scholar Frank M. Robinson, 87, died June 30, 2014. Robinson lived in San Francisco and had suffered from health problems in recent years. Frank Malcolm Robinson was born August 9, 1926, in Chicago IL. After graduating from high school in 1943, he worked as a copy boy at the Chicago Herald-American, then […]

2014 Locus Awards Winners

The 2014 Locus Awards winners have been announced. SCIENCE FICTION NOVEL Abaddon’s Gate, James S.A. Corey (Orbit US; Orbit UK) MaddAddam, Margaret Atwood (McClelland & Stewart; Bloomsbury; Talese) The Best of All Possible Worlds, Karen Lord (Del Rey; Jo Fletcher UK) Shaman, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit US; Orbit UK) Neptune’s Brood, Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit […]

Harris Joins

Lee Harris is joining the new publishing imprint as senior editor. Harris was previously a senior editor at Angry Robot, where he began working in 2009.

2014 Science Fiction Hall of Fame Inductees

The 2014 inductees to the Science Fiction Hall of Fame are Leigh Brackett, Frank Frazetta, Stanley Kubrick, Hayao Miyazaki, and Olaf Stapledon. The Science Fiction Hall of Fame was founded in 1996 and then relocated from the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction and Fantasy at the University of  Kansas to its permanent […]

Hachette Purchases Perseus

Hachette Book Group is buying the Perseus Book Group. Hachette will incorporate all nine Perseus  imprints including Avalon Books, Running Press, and Da Capo Press, and will maintain Perseus’s various partnerships. The imprints will likely remain intact, and continue to operate from their current offices for the time being. After the sale is finalized, Hachette will sell […]

Strange Chemistry and Exhibit A Discontinued

Angry Robot announced on June 20, 2014, that they will be discontinuing their YA imprint Strange Chemistry and their crime/mystery imprint Exhibit A. The imprints “have unfortunately been unable to carve out their own niches” in the market, and will immediately cease all publishing activities. Forthcoming titles from Strange Chemistry and Exhibit A will be […]

2014 Wellman Award Finalists

The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation has announced the finalists for the 2014 Manly Wade Wellman Award. The award recognizes outstanding works of speculative fiction by North Carolina authors. The Heretic, Tony Daniel & David Drake (Baen) Vaporware, Richard Dansky (JournalStone) Monsters of the Earth, David Drake (Tor) Darwen Arkwright and the School of Shadows, […]

Daniel Keyes (1927-2014)

Author Daniel Keyes, 86, died June 15, 2014. Keyes is best known for his Hugo Award winning classic SF story “Flowers for Algernon” (F&SF, 1959), the Nebula Award winning and bestselling 1966 novel expansion, and the film version Charly (1968). Keyes was born August 9, 1927 in New York. He worked variously as an editor, […]

2014 Sunburst Shortlist Announced

Finalists for the 14th annual Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic have been announced: Adult Sister Mine, Nalo Hopkinson (Grand Central) River of Stars, Guy Gavriel Kay (Penguin Canada) This Strange Way of Dying, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Exile Editions) A Tale for the Time Being, Ruth Ozeki (Penguin Canada) The Demonologist, Andrew Pyper […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.