The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2014 Campbell and Sturgeon Award Winners

Strange Bodies by Marcel Theroux (Faber & Faber/Farrar, Straus, and Giroux) won this year’s John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel published in 2013, and Sarah Pinsker’s “In Joy, Knowing the Abyss” (Strange Horizons 7/1/13 and 7/8/13 ) is the winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for best short fiction of 2013.

The awards will be presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, held June 13-15, 2014 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Other finalists were as follows:

John W. Campbell Memorial Award

  • Lexicon, Max Barry (Penguin)
  • Proxima, Stephen Baxter (Gollancz)
  • The Circle, Dave Eggers (Knopf)
  • We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, Karen Joy Fowler (Marian Wood / Putnam)
  • Hild, Nicola Griffith (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)
  • The Cusanus Game, Wolfgang Jeschke (Tor)
  • Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit)
  • The Disestablishment of Paradise, Phillip Mann (Gollancz)
  • Evening’s Empires, Paul McAuley (Gollancz)
  • The Red: First Light, Linda Nagata (Mythic Island Press)
  • The Adjacent, Christopher Priest (Gollancz)
  • On the Steel Breeze, Alastair Reynolds (Gollancz)
  • Shaman, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)
  • Neptune’s Brood, Charles Stross (Ace)

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

  • “Bloom”, Gregory Norman Bossert (Asimov’s 12/13)
  • “The Weight of the Sunrise”, Vylar Kaftan (Asimov’s 02/13)
  • “They Shall Salt the Earth with Seeds of Glass”, Alaya Dawn Johnson (Asimov’s 01/13)
  • “Over There”, Will McIntosh (Asimov’s 01/13)
  • “The Wildfires of Antarctica”, Alan DeNiro (Asimov’s 10 & 11/13)
  • “The Irish Astronaut”, Val Nolan (Electric Velocipede 05/13)
  • “Mystic Falls”, Robert Reed (Clarkesworld 11/13)
  • “Selected Program Notes from the Retrospective Exhibition of Theresa Rosenberg Latimer”, Kenneth Schneyer (Clockwork Phoenix 4)
  • “The Urashima Effect”, E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld 06/13)

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.