The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Frank O’Connor Award Longlist

The longlist for the 2014 Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award, given for the best book of previously-uncollected stories appearing in English between July 2011 and June 2012, has been announced. Entries of genre interest include:

  • The Vanishing Act, Prawin Adhikari (Rupa)
  • Bones of an Inland Sea, Mary Akers (Press 53)
  • Boundary Problems, Greg Bechtel (Freehand Books)
  • One Hundred Apocalypses, Lucy Corin (McSweeney’s)
  • Wikiworld, Paul Di Filippo (ChiZine)
  • American Innovations, Rivka Galchen (Fourth Estate)
  • Tell My Sorrows to the Stones, Christopher Golden (ChiZine)
  • Electricity & Other Dreams, Micah Dean Hicks (New American Press)
  • Irregular Verbs, Matthew Johnson (ChiZine)
  • The Rental Heart and Other Fairytales, Kirsty Logan (Salt Publishing)
  • Three Scenarios in Which Hana Sasaki Grows a Tail, Kelly Luce (A Strange Object)
  • Moss Witch, Sara Maitland (Comma Press)
  • Leaving the Sea, Ben Marcus (Grant/Knopf)
  • Things Withered, Susie Moloney (ChiZine)
  • Paradise Elsewhere, Kathy Page (Biblioasis)
  • Dead Americans, Ben Peek (ChiZine)
  • Celestial Inventories, Steve Rasnic Tem (ChiZine)
  • The Old Priest, Anthony Wallace (University of Pittsburgh Press)
  • Phone Call from Hell and Other Tales of the Damned, Jonathan Woods (New Pulp)

The winner will receive €25,000. The international short story award is presented in honor of Irish author Frank O’Connor. The shortlist for the award will be released on June 13, 2014.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.