The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for August, 2014

2014 Baen Fantasy Adventure Award Winners

Winners of the first annual Baen Fantasy Adventure Awards were announced August 16, 2014, at Gen Con in Indianapolis IN. Grand Prize: “The Golden Knight”, K.D. Julicher First Runnerup: “Phoenix for the Amateur Chef”, Scott Huggins Second Runnerup: “The Girl with No Name”, Travis Heermann The contest focused on adventure fantasy short stories of 8,000 […]

Piatkus Constable Robinson Formed

Little, Brown UK recently acquired publisher Constable & Robinson and has announced a new division merging the acquisition with Piatkus, to “take advantage of publishing synergies, streamline day-to-day editorial processes, and help fully integrate Constable & Robinson within the company.”  Constable Robinson publisher Tim Whiting will report to David Shelley, publisher of the Little, Brown UK […]

Eurocon 2016 in Barcelona

The next Eurocon (BCon) will be held November 4-6, 2016, in Barcelona, Spain at the Centre for Contemporary Culture. Guests of honour are writers Aliette de Bodard and Richard Morgan, fan organizer Jun Miyazaki, and artist Enrique Corominas. The con committee is led by Pep Burillo, Alejo Cuervo, and Ian Watson. Event organizers are Cristina Macía, […]

ESFS Awards Winners

The European Science Fiction Society (ESFS) Hall of Fame Awards and Spirit of Dedication Awards winners were announced at Shamrokon, the 36th Eurocon, August 24, 2014 in Dublin, Ireland. For more, see the ESFS website. Jim Fitzpatrick (Ireland) was named European Grandmaster. Other winners and nominees are below. HALL OF FAME Awarded to people who have […]

2016 Worldcon in Kansas City

Mid American Science Fiction and Fantasy Conventions, Inc. won the bid to host the 2016 Worldcon. MidAmeriCon II will be held August 17 – 21, 2016 in Kansas City, MO at the Kansas City Convention Center and Bartle Hall. Chaired by Ruth Lichtwardt, Jeff Orth, and Diane Lacey, the 2016 guests of honor are Tamora […]

2014 Golden Duck Awards Winners

Winners of the 2014 Golden Duck Awards for excellence in SF children’s literature were announced August 16, 2014 at Loncon 3, the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, held in London, England. The awards were first announced and presented at Detcon1, the 2014 North American Science Fiction Convention (NASFiC) that was held in July in Detroit, […]

2014 Chesley Awards Winners

Winners for the Chesley Awards were announced at Loncon 3, the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, held in London, England, August 15, 2014. The Chesley Awards are presented by the Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists (ASFA). Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book Todd Lockwood, for A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan (Tor) […]

2013 Sidewise Awards Winners

The 2013 Sidewise Award Winners for the best in alternate history fiction published in 2013 have been announced: Short Form “The Weight of the Sunrise”, Vylar Kaftan (Asimov’s 2/13) “A Brief History of the Trans-Pacific Tunnel”, Ken Liu (F&SF 1/13) “Tollund”, Adam Roberts (The Book of the Dead) “Uncertainty”, Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Asimov’s 3/13) “Cayos […]

2014 Hugo and Campbell Awards Winners

Winners for the Hugo Awards and for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer were announced at Loncon 3, the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, held in London, England, August 17, 2014. Best Novel (1,595 nominating ballots) Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK) Warbound, Larry Correia (Baen) Parasite, Mira Grant (Orbit […]

Fan Awards at Loncon 3

Several awards for services to SF fandom were presented during the Retro Hugo Awards ceremony, held August 14, 2014 at Loncon 3, the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention,  held August 14- 18, 2014 in London, England. First Fandom Hall of Fame Award John Clute First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame Awards John “Ted” Carnell Walter H. Gillings Sam […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.