The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for December, 2014

2015 World Fantasy Website Opens

The 2015 World Fantasy Convention website is officially open, with information on the hotel, registration, and the convention itself. Steven Erikson and Chelsea Quinn Yarbro will be guests of honor, with Glen Cook and David Drake as special guests, and a tribute to the late Graham Joyce. The 2015 WFC will be held November 5-8 […]

2015 Hugo Base Competition

Sasquan, the 73rd Worldcon, August 19-23, 2015 in Spokane WA, opened the competition to design the base of the 2015 Hugo Award on December 18, 2014. Designs should “have a theme that highlights either Spokane or the Northwest in general.” Proposals should be submitted to the Sasquan committee by February 1, 2015. The winner will receive […]

World Fantasy Judges Announced

The judges for the 2015 World Fantasy Awards have been empaneled. All forms of fantasy qualify; only living authors and editors are eligible; all books must have a 2014 publication date and all magazines a 2014 cover date. To be considered for awards, all materials must be received by all five judges and the convention […]

Rocky Wood Scholarship

The Horror Writers Association has announced the formation of the Rocky Wood Memorial Scholarship, in honor of their president, who died earlier this month. The scholarship was proposed by HWA treasurer Leslie Klinger and will focus on non-fiction writers. Klinger will oversee implementation of the prize. The HWA also announced that vice president Lisa Morton will […]

2014 Rhysling Awards Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association (SFPA) has announced the winners of the annual Rhysling Awards for science fiction, fantasy, and horror poetry, short and long form. This year’s winners are: SHORT POEM: First Place “Turning the Leaves” by Amal El-Mohtar (Apex Magazine 12/13) Second Place “Rivers”, Geoffrey A. Landis (Asimov’s 6/13) Third Place “Music of the Stars”, Bruce Boston (2013 Balticon Program […]

Donald Moffitt (1931-2014)

Author Donald Moffitt, 83, died December 10, 2014 in Monroe ME. Moffitt was born July 20, 1931 in Boston. He began publishing SF with “The Devil’s Due” in Fantastic (1960). The Jupiter Theft (1977) was his first hard SF novel, and other SF works include the Genesis duology, with The Genesis Quest (1986) and Second Genesis […]

Patterson Indie Bookstore Grants

Author James Patterson has given away the third and final round of grants in this year’s “Saving Bookstores, Saving Lives” campaign. In this round he donated $473,000 to 81 independent bookstores. He has given away a total of $1 million to indie stores this year, all funded by the author personally. For more information, including […]

Duncan Named MWA Grand Master

Lois Duncan has been named a 2015 Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America, along with James Ellroy. Hard Case Crime co-founder and editor Charles Ardai will receive the Ellery Queen Award. For more information, including other MWA award winners, see their official website.    

Inaugural YA Book Prize Shortlist

The first YA Book Prize shortlist has several titles of genre interest. Open to UK and Irish authors and publishers, the honor comes with a £2,000 award. On the We Love This Book website, chair of judges Charlotte Eyre says, “Ultimately we chose 10 books that we loved and hopefully we have reflected the diversity […]

2014 Ignotus Awards Winners

The winners for the 2014 Ignotus Awards (the Spanish equivalent of the Hugo Awards), honoring the best works published in Spain last year, have been announced. The awards were chosen by members of the annual HispaCon and winners were announced at HispaCon, December 6-8, 2014 in Montcada i Reixac, outside Barcelona. The award is sponsored […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.