The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2016 winners

2015 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Cho and Feldman Win Crawford Award

For the first time in its 30-year history, the William L. Crawford Fantasy Award selection has resulted in a tie. The co-winners are collection Spirits Abroad by Zen Cho (Buku Fixi) and novel The Angel of Losses by Stephanie Feldman (Ecco).

According to award administrator Gary K. Wolfe, the two books found broad support from the nominating committee, which felt both were deserving of the award.  The other books included on this year’s Crawford shortlist are Fire in the Unnameable Country by Ghalib Islam (Hamish Hamilton), The Stone Boatmen by Sarah Tolmie (Aqueduct), Boundary Problems by Greg Bechtel (Freehand), and The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton (Ecco).

Participating in this year’s nomination and selection process were Farah Mendlesohn, Ellen Klages, Graham Sleight, Karen Burnham, Candas Jane Dorsey, Jedediah Berry, Niall Harrison, and last year’s winner Sofia Samatar.  The award will be presented on March 21 during the 36th International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts in Orlando FL.

The IAFA’s Distinguished Scholarship Award will be presented to Colin Milburn, and the Jamie Bishop Memorial Award for a work of scholarship written in a language other than English will go to Fernando Ángel Moreno, Mikel Peregrina, and Steven Bermúdez Antúnez. Awards for student scholarship will be announced later.



© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.