The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for March, 2015

Wilson Wins Prometheus Lifetime Achievement Award

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced that F. Paul Wilson will receive a Special Prometheus Award for Lifetime Achievement, to be presented during Marcon, May 8-10, 2015 in Columbus OH. This will be the third Lifetime Achievement Award presented by the LFS. Poul Anderson won in 2001, and Vernor Vinge, in 2014. For more, visit the LFS site.

World Fantasy Awards Art Submissions

Peter Dennis Pautz, president of the World Fantasy Awards Association, notes that the WF judges “are seeking materials to consider in the Artist category. As always, this seems to be the category with the fewest submissions from either publishers or artists.” All forms of fantasy qualify;  this category like the others is for work published […]

British Columbia Book Prize Shortlist

There are two titles of genre interest on the 2015 British Columbia Book Prize shortlists. Paradise & Elsewhere by Kathy Page (Biblioasis) is a finalist for the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize for adult books, and Sophie, in Shadow by Eileen Kernaghan (Thistledown) is a finalist for the Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize. The BC Book Prizes, established in 1985, […]

Peggy Rae Sapienza (1944-2015)

Fan and convention organizer Peggy Rae Sapienza, 70, died March 22, 2015, of complications from recent heart surgery. Sapienza was an important figure in convention fandom. She chaired Bucconeer, the 1998 Baltimore Worldcon, and was the North American Agent for Nippon, the Japanese Worldcon in 2007. She also chaired the Nebula Awards Weekends in 2011 […]

Inaugural YA Book Prize Winner

The first YA Book Prize winner has been announced, presented by the Bookseller. The winner, and nominees of genre interest, are: Only Ever Yours, Louise O’Neill (Quercus) A Song for Ella Grey, David Almond (Hodder Children’s Books) Say Her Name, James Dawson (Hot Key Books) Half Bad, Sally Green (Penguin) The Ghosts of Heaven, Marcus Sedgwick […]

HWA Awards

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) has announced several 2014 award recipients: Jack Ketchum and Tanith Lee will receive Lifetime Achievement awards. ChiZine Publications is the winner of the Specialty Press Award for “a publisher outside the mainstream New York City publishing community that specializes in dark-themed fiction.” Rena Mason will receive the Silver Hammer Award, […]

2015 Hemming Award Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2015 Norma K. Hemming Award has been announced. The Female Factory, Lisa L. Hannett & Angela Slatter (Twelfth Planet Press) Razorhurst, Justine Larbalestier (Allen & Unwin) Nil By Mouth, LynC (Satalyte) The Wonders, Paddy O’Reilly (Affirm) North Star Guide Me Home, Jo Spurrier (HarperVoyager) The Hemming Award is presented by the […]

Carnegie & Greenaway Medal Finalists

Finalists for the Carnegie Medal for best children’s book, and the Kate Greenaway Medal for best illustrations in a children’s book, have been announced, including several titles of SF/F interest. Carnegie Medal Tinder, Sally Gardner (Orion Children’s) Cuckoo Song, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan Children’s) More than This, Patrick Ness (Walker) Greenaway Medal John Higgins & Marc Olivent for Dark Satanic […]

Baen Memorial Contest Winners

Baen Books has announced the winners of the 2015 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award: Grand Prize: “We Fly,” Karen Birkedahl Rylander 2nd Place: “A Metal Box Floating Between the Stars,” Jamie Lackey 3rd Place: “Boomerang Zone,” Robert Dawson The winning story will be featured on the Baen website. The author will be given an […]

2016 Philip K. Dick Award Judges

The five judges for the 2016 Philip K. Dick Award have been announced. Works of science fiction originally published as paperbacks in the US during the year 2015 are eligible for the award. Eric James Fullilove, 420 S. San Pedro #613, Los Angeles CA 90013-1887 James C. Glass, (March 1 – May 15 and Oct. […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.