The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for April, 2015

2015 Edgar Awards Winners

The 2015 Edgar Awards were presented by the Mystery Writers of America in a ceremony held April 29, 2015 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York. There were several works of genre interest among the winners: Best Novel Mr. Mercedes, Stephen King (Scribner) Best Critical/ Biographical Poe-Land: The Hallowed Haunts of Edgar Allen Poe, J.W. […]

Schubert Declines Hugo Nomination

Edmund R. Schubert, editor of Orson Scott Card’s InterGalactic Medicine Show and nominee for a 2015 Hugo Award in the Best Professional Editor Short Form category, has declined his nomination. In his announcement, Schubert explained, “I can’t in good conscience complain about the deck being stacked against me, and then feel good about being nominated for an […]

2015 ESFS Awards Winners

The European Science Fiction Society (ESFS) Hall of Fame Awards and Spirit of Dedication Awards winners were announced at the 37th Eurocon, April 26, 2015 in St. Petersburg, Russia. Eugene Lukin was named European Grandmaster. Other winners and nominees are below. HALL OF FAME Awarded to people who have an impact beyond their own country. […]

2015 Prometheus Award Finalists

The Libertarian Futurist Society has released the finalists for the Prometheus Award, honoring pro-freedom works published in 2014. Best Novel Award The Three-Body Problem, Liu Cixin (Tor) Raising Steam, Terry Pratchett (Doubleday) A Better World, Marcus Sakey (Thomas & Mercer) Influx, Daniel Suarez (Dutton) All members of the Libertarian Futurist Society are eligible to vote. […]

2015 Seiun Awards Nominees

The 2015 Seiun Awards finalists (the Japanese equivalent to the Hugo Awards), honoring the best original and translated works published last year in Japan, have been announced. The nominees for translated works are: Best Translated Novel Pathfinder, Orson Scott Card, translated by Naoya Nakahara (Hayakawa) Ready Player One, Ernest Cline, translated by Makiko Ikeda (SB […]

Offerman Named Nebula Toastmaster

SFWA has announced that Nick Offerman, the actor who played Ron Swanson on Parks and Recreation, will be Toastmaster at the 50th Nebula Awards Weekend, to be held June 4-7, 2015, at the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago IL. According to the SFWA website, Offerman is “A lifelong fan of the Science Fiction and Fantasy […]

Ellison Wins Prometheus Hall of Fame Award

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the Prometheus Award Hall of Fame winner: “‘Repent, Harlequin!’ Said the Ticktockman”, Harlan Ellison (1965) “Sam Hall”, Poul Anderson (1953) Falling Free, Lois McMaster Bujold (1988) Courtship Rite, Donald M. Kingsbury (1982) “As Easy as A.B.C.”, Rudyard Kipling (1912) This category honors novels, novellas, stories, graphic novels, anthologies, films, […]

K.J. Parker’s Identity Revealed

The pseudonymous World Fantasy Award-winning author K.J. Parker revealed his true identity, humorous fantasy writer Tom Holt, in a conversation with Locus‘s own Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe, on their Coode Street Podcast. You can listen to the interview here. Holt, 53, began publishing as K.J. Parker in 1998 with Colours in the Steel and has produced […]

Black Gate Declines Hugo Nomination

Black Gate, nominated for a 2015 Hugo Award in the fanzine category, has withdrawn from the awards ballot as of Saturday April 18th, 2015. In his announcement, editor John O’Neill explained, “Black Gate has, for the past two weeks, been debating the very legitimacy of the current Hugo ballot, and I have been publicly and […]

2014 RT Awards Winners

Several titles and authors of genre interest are among the 2014 Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice and Career Achievement Awards winners. For Career Achievement, Cecilia Tan won in the Erotic Romance sub-category, Kathy Reichs won for Mystery, Walter Dean Myers won for Young Adult, Amanda Ashley won for Paranormal Romance, Sharon Sala won for Romantic Suspense, […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.