The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Russ and Schmidt Win Solstice Awards

SFWA has announced that Joanna Russ (1937-2011) and Stanley Schmidt, 71, are the recipients of the 2015 Solstice Awards. The awards will be presented during the Nebula Awards Weekend in Chicago, IL, May 4-7, 2015.

The award, created in 2008 and given at the discretion of the SFWA president with the majority approval of the Board of Directors, is for individuals, living or dead, who have had “a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape. It is especially meant to recognize the non-authorial figures in the industry, who are all too often taken for granted in regards to lifetime achievement.” The Solstice Awards have most recently been awarded to Carl Sagan, Ginjer Buchanan, Octavia E. Butler, John Clute, Tom Doherty, Terri Windling, and  Donald A. Wollheim.

For more, see the SFWA website.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.