The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for May, 2015

Tomorrow Prize Winner

“Freedom” by Ashley Anderson from Port of Los Angeles High School won the inaugural Tomorrow Prize for Short Fiction. Anna Maria Horsford read the story aloud and Anderson will receive a prize of $250. The ceremony was held May 25, 2015 at Sci-Fest LA, the Los Angeles Science Fiction One-Act Play Festival. For more:

Roswell Award Winner

“Grandma’s Sex Robot” by William Hawkins won the inaugural Roswell Award short story writing contest. Gates McFadden read the story aloud and Hawkins will receive a prize of $1,000. The ceremony was held May 25, 2015 at Sci-Fest LA, the Los Angeles Science Fiction One-Act Play Festival. For more:

Duncan Wins 2015 Compton Crook Award

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society has announced that Alexandra Duncan’s Salvage (Greenwillow) is the winner of the 2015 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award for “the best first novel in the genre published in the previous year by the members of the Baltimore Science Fiction Society.” The award was presented May 22, 2015 at Balticon 49, where Duncan received an award plaque and check […]

2015 Aurora Awards Nominees

The 2015 Aurora Awards finalists have been announced, celebrating the “best works and activities done by Canadians in 2014.” Best Novel A Play of Shadow, Julie E. Czerneda (DAW) The Peripheral, William Gibson (Penguin Canada) The Future Falls, Tanya Huff (DAW) My Real Children, Jo Walton (Tor) Echopraxia, Peter Watts (Tor) Best YA Novel  Sea […]

Spectrum 22 Awards Winners

The 2015 Spectrum Awards Winners were announced May 23, 2015 at Spectrum Fantastic Art Live 4 at the Folly Theater in Kansas City MO. Advertising Gold Award: “Barbarians: Faust”, Taylor Wessling Silver Award: “Tokyo Night Show”, Yuko Shimizu Book Gold Award: “Taking Flight”, Dan dos Santos Silver Award: “Jack and the Sleeping Giant”, Scott Gustafson Comics […]

Tanith Lee (1947-2015)

Author Tanith Lee, 67, died peacefully in her sleep May 24, 2015 after a long illness. Lee was born September 19, 1947 in London and studied at Prendergast Grammar School, Catford, London, and at an art college in the city. After working for a while as a library assistant in London, she became a freelance […]

Australian Awards News

Judges for the 2015 Aurealis Awards, honoring excellence in Australian SF, fantasy, and horror work, have been empaneled. Winners of the 2014 Australian Shadows Awards, presented by the Australian Horror Writers Association and honoring work by Australians and New Zealanders, have been announced. Novel Wolf Creek: Origin, Aaron Sterns & Greg McLean (Penguin Australia) Short Fiction […]

SFWA Election Results

The results of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America officers’ election were announced. Current president Steven Gould and director-at-large Jim Fiscus are stepping down on June 30, 2015. As of July 1, 2015, the new board will be: president: Cat Rambo; vice-president: M.C.A. Hogarth; secretary: Susan Forest; chief financial officer: Bud Sparhawk; directors-at-large: […]

2015 Scribe Award Nominees

The International Association of Media Tie-in Writers announced the nominees for the 2015 Scribe Awards, honoring excellence in licensed tie-in writing. Nominees of genre interest follow. Speculative Novel Original Star Trek: Foul Deeds Will Rise, Greg Cox (Pocket/ Star Trek) Sleepy Hollow: Children of the Revolution, Keith R. A. DeCandido (Broadway) Fringe: Sins of the Father, […]

Hugo Voter Packet Available

The 2015 Hugo Voter Packet is available for download by members of Sasquan. The packet “is free to all current Supporting, Attending and Young Adult members of Sasquan, and those who become members before 31 July 2015. Its purpose is to allow those who are voting on the Hugo Awards to be able to make an […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.