The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Station Eleven Wins Clarke Award

The winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award  for best science fiction novel published in 2014 has been announced:

  • Station Eleven, Emily St. John Mandel (Picador)
  • The Girl With All The Gifts, M.R. Carey (Orbit)
  • The Book Of Strange New Things, Michel Faber (Canongate)
  • Europe In Autumn, Dave Hutchinson (Solaris)
  • Memory Of Water, Emmi Itäranta (HarperVoyager)
  • The First Fifteen Lives Of Harry August, Claire North (Orbit)

This year’s judges were Duncan Lawie and Nicholas Whyte for the British Science Fiction Association, Sarah Brown and Lesley Hall for the Science Fiction Foundation, and Leila Abu El Hawa for SCI-FI-LONDON. Andrew M. Butler was chair of judges. Tom Hunter was awards director.

Mandel received a £2015 prize and a commemorative engraved bookend. The winning title was announced May 6, 2015, at an award ceremony held at Foyles Bookshop, London, as part of the lead-up to the SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.