The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for June, 2015

2015 Seiun Awards Winners

Winners for translated works in the 2015 Seiun Awards (the Japanese equivalent to the Hugo Awards) have been announced. Best Translated Novel The Martian, Andy Weir, translated by Kazuko Onoda (Hayakawa) Pathfinder, Orson Scott Card, translated by Naoya Nakahara (Hayakawa) Ready Player One, Ernest Cline, translated by Makiko Ikeda (SB Creative) The Dervish House, Ian […]

2014 SLF Older Writers Grant Recipients

Michael Fontana and Deborah (D.K.) McKutchen have been awarded the Older Writers grant by the Speculative Literature Foundation (SLF). The grant “is awarded annually to a writer who is fifty years of age or older at the time of grant application, and is intended to assist such writers who are just starting to work at […]

2015 Locus Awards Winners

The Locus Science Fiction Foundation announced the winners of the 2015 Locus Awards on Saturday, June 27, 2015 during the Locus Awards Weekend in Seattle WA. SCIENCE FICTION NOVEL Ancillary Sword, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK) The Peripheral, William Gibson (Putnam; Viking UK) The Three-Body Problem, Cixin Liu (Tor) Lock In, John Scalzi (Tor; Gollancz) Annihilation/Authority/Acceptance, […]

Berkley and New American Library Combined

Penguin Publishing Group has combined Berkley and New American Library into a new division, called Berkley Publishing Group. Berkley head Leslie Gelbman is president of the new division, which she says will shift to “an amplified focus on major commercial hardcover and trade paperback originals.” Hardcover and trade paperback fiction will appear under the Berkley Books imprint, […]

2015 Sunburst Awards Short List

The jury’s short list for the 2015 Sunburst Awards for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic have been announced: Adult: The Troop, Nick Cutter (Pocket) The Back of the Turtle, Thomas King (HarperCollins) Station Eleven, Emily St. John Mandel (Picador) My Real Children, Jo Walton (Tor; Corsair) Will Starling, Ian Weir (Goose Lane) Adult […]

2015 Chesley Awards Finalists

Finalists for the 2015 Chesley Awards, given by the Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists (ASFA), were announced: Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book Julie Dillon, for Shadows Beneath: The Writing Excuses Anthology, Brandon Sanderson, ed. (Dragonsteel) Jon Foster, for Zombie Baseball Beatdown, Paolo Bacigalupi (Subterranean) Todd Lockwood, for The Tropic of Serpents, Marie […]

2015 Campbell and Sturgeon Awards Winners

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North (Redhook) won this year’s John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the best science fiction novel published in 2014, and Cory Doctorow’s “The Man Who Sold the Moon” (Hieroglyph: Stories and Visions for a Better Future) is the winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short […]

2015 SF&F Hall of Fame Inductees & James Gunn Fundraiser

The 2015 inductees to the Science Fiction Hall of Fame are James E. Gunn, Georges Méliès, John Schoenherr, and Kurt Vonnegut. This year’s Curator’s Selection is Jack Gaughan. The Locus Science Fiction Foundation is running a “lightning-fast” fundraiser to cover James E. Gunn’s travel expenses so he can attend the June 27, 2015 induction ceremony in Seattle: […]

Wolfgang Jeschke (1936-2015)

Editor and author Wolfgang Jeschke, 78, died June 10, 2015 in Munich, Germany. Jeschke was an award-winning editor of SF novels and anthologies, as well as an author. He is credited with leading German SF publisher Heyne Verlag to great success beginning in the late ’70s. Jeschke was born November 19, 1936 in Tetschen, Czechoslovakia (now […]

Norton and Nebula Awards Medallions

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) have created official medallions that can be displayed on the covers of Norton and Nebula Award-winning publications. The design, revealed during the Nebula Awards banquet on June 6, 2015 and announced in an official release the following day, celebrate the 50th anniversary of the SFWA. The medallions were created by […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.