The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2015 Chesley Awards Finalists

Finalists for the 2015 Chesley Awards, given by the Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists (ASFA), were announced:

Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book

  • Julie Dillon, for Shadows Beneath: The Writing Excuses Anthology, Brandon Sanderson, ed. (Dragonsteel)
  • Jon Foster, for Zombie Baseball Beatdown, Paolo Bacigalupi (Subterranean)
  • Todd Lockwood, for The Tropic of Serpents, Marie Brennan (Tor)
  • John Picacio, for Endymion, Dan Simmons (Subterranean)
  • Michael Whelan, for Words of Radiance, Brandon Sanderson (Tor)

Best Cover Illustration – Paperback Book

  • John Harris, for Ancillary Sword, Ann Leckie (Orbit)
  • Jon Sullivan, for The Return of the Discounted Man, Mark Hodder (Pyr)
  • Raymond Swanland, for The Lady, K.V. Johansen (Pyr)
  • Danielle Tunstall, for Unseaming, Mike Allen (Antimatter)
  • Raoul Vitale, for Nebula Awards Showcase 2014, Kij Johnson, ed.  (Pyr)

Best Cover Illustration – Magazine

  • Julie Dillon, for Analog (4/14)
  • Matt Dixon, for Clarkesworld (3/14)
  • Wayne Haag, for Interzone (7-8/14)
  • Patrick Jones, for Analog (3/14)
  • Jae Lee, for Batman/Superman #14 (DC Comics 10/14)
  • Peter Mohrbacher, for Lightspeed (5/14)
  • Dan Dos Santos, for Serenity: Leaves on the Wind #3 (Dark Horse 3/14)

Best Interior Illustration

  • Anna Balbusso & Elena Balbusso, for “Ekaterina and the Firebird”, Abra Staffin-Wiebe ( 1/14)
  • Galen Dara, for “A City of Its Tentacles”, Rose Lemberg (Lackinton’s 2/14)
  • Julie Dillon, for Imagined Realms: Book 1 (self-published)
  • Scott Gustafson, for Classic Bedtime Stories , Scott Gustafson (Artisan)
  • Karla Ortiz, for “The Walking Stick Forest”, Anna Tambour ( 5/14)
  • John Picacio, for “Nuestra Senora de la Esperanza”, Carrie Vaughn ( 10/14)

Best Three-Dimensional Art

  • Dan Chudzinski, for “The Mudpuppy” (resin & mixed media)
  • David Meng, for “Sun WuKong, the Monkey King”
  • Michael Parkes, for “Meditation” (bronze)
  • Forest Rogers, for “A Fish from Versailles” (Kato polyclay)
  • Virginie Ropars, for “Morrigan” (polymer clay & mixed media)
  • Vincent Villafranca, for “Modernity’s Squeaky Child” (bronze & steel)

Best Color Work—Unpublished

  • Linda Adair, for “Dragonsbride” (oil)
  • Annie Stegg Gerard, for “The Lady of Lorien” (oil on linen)
  • Michael C. Hayes, for “Alegretto” (oils)
  • Reiko Murakami, for “Giving Name” (Photoshop)
  • Mark Poole, for “Omens” (oils)
  • Dorian Vallejo, for “Crossing” (oil on canvas)

Best Monochrome Work – Unpublished

  • Kristina Carroll, for “Dragonslayer” (charcoal)
  • Sean Murray, for “Gateway: The Storkfriars” (graphite)
  • John Picacio, for “El Venado” (graphite)
  • Olivier Villoingt, for “The Soul of War” (graphite & acrylic)
  • Allen Williams, for “Sphynx” (graphite)
  • Rebecca Yanovskaya, for “Wisdom” (ink & mixed media)

Best Product Illustration

  • Julie Bell & Boris Vallejo, for “Jeannie’s Kitten” (IlluXCon 6 promo art)
  • Mitchell Bentley, for 2014 Space Art Calendar (Atomic Fly Studios and Alban Lake)
  • Frank Cho & Brandon Peterson, for “Fast Food” (New York ComicCon 2014 promo art)
  • Julie Dillon, for 2014 Llewellyn’s Astrology Calendar (Llewellyn)
  • Justin Gerard, for “Morzag! Lord of Destruction” poster
  • Donato Giancola, for George R.R. Martin A Song of Ice and Fire 2015 calendar (Bantam)
  • Patrick Jones, for “Conan The Conquered” (Illuxcon promo art)
  • Iain McCaig, for “Call of the Muse” (Spectrum 20 Call for Entries poster)
  • John Picacio, for “El Arpa” (Loteria Card Illustration from Lone Boy)
  • John Picacio, for “La Calavera Loteria” card (
  • Raymond Swanland, for “One with the Light” Limited Edition Giclee on canvas (Acme Archives)

Best Gaming-Related Illustration

  • Noah Bradley, for “Drown in Sorrow” (Magic: The Gathering)
  • Eric Deschamps, for “Ephara, God of Polis” (Magic: The Gathering)
  • Michael Komarck, for “D&D The Rise of Tiamat” (Wizards of the Coast)
  • Peter Mohrbacher, for “Pharika, God of Affliction” (Magic: The Gathering)
  • Karla Ortiz, for “Ghoulcaller Gisa” (Magic: The Gathering)
  • Chris Rahn, for “Ajani the Steadfast” (Magic: The Gathering)

Best Art Director

  • Lou Anders, for Pyr
  • Shelly Bond, for DC/Vertigo
  • Irene Gallo, for Tor &
  • Jeremy Jarvis, for Wizards of the Coast
  • Lauren Panepinto, for Orbit

Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement

  • Kinuko Craft
  • John Harris
  • Gregory Manchess
  • Iain McCaig

The winners will be announced at the Chesley Awards ceremony during Sasquan, the 73rd World Science Fiction Convention, August 19-23, 2015 in Spokane WA. For more, see the ASFA website.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.