The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for July, 2015

Adrienne Martine-Barnes (1942-2015)

Adrienne Martine-Barnes, 73, died July 20, 2015 in a Portland OR hospital. Born January 19, 1942 in Los Angeles CA, Barnes began publishing with “Di Catenas” (1982) in Marion Zimmer Bradley’s Darkover anthology Swords of Chaos. Her debut novel The Dragon Rises appeared in 1983, and her series Chronique D’Avebury includes The Fire Sword (1984), […]

Hieroglyph Wins MSFW Award

Hieroglyph, edited by Kathryn Cramer & Ed Finn(Morrow) is one of the winners of the 2015 Most Significant Future Works (MSFW) awards, in the category honoring works which “Illuminate the future through literary or artistic works.” The MSFW Awards were founded by the Association of Professional Futurists “for the purpose of identifying and rewarding the work of professional futurists and […]

2015 RITA and Golden Heart Awards

The RITA and Golden Heart Awards were presented by the Romance Writers of America at their annual convention in New York on July 25, 2015. The RITA is presented for best novel, and the Golden Heart is a contest for the best novel by an unpublished novelist. Winners of genre interest include: RITA for Paranormal […]

2015 Man Booker Longlist

The 13-title longlist for the Man Booker Prize includes one title of SF/F interest: The Chimes, Anna Smaill (Sceptre) The award, which includes a £50,000 prize, is presented annually to the best original novel in the English language by a living author. The award was previously only available to writers from Commonwealth nations, the Republic […]

2015 British Fantasy Awards Nominees

The British Fantasy Society (BFS) has announced the finalists for the 2015 British Fantasy Awards. The nominees are: Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award) City of Stairs, Robert Jackson Bennett (Jo Fletcher) The Relic Guild, Edward Cox (Gollancz) Breed, K.T. Davies (Fox Spirit) Cuckoo Song, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan Children’s) A Man Lies Dreaming, Lavie […]

Lafferty Wins Wellman

The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation has announced the winner of the 2015 Manly Wade Wellman Award. The award recognizes “outstanding achievement in science fiction and fantasy novels written by North Carolina authors.” Ghost Train to New Orleans, Mur Lafferty (Orbit) The Sea Without a Shore, David Drake (Baen) Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, A.J. Hartley […]

2014 Sidewise Awards Finalists

The 2014 Sidewise Awards finalists for the best alternate history stories and books of 2014 have been announced: Short Form “The Long Haul From the ANNALS OF TRANSPORTATION, The Pacific Monthly, May 2009”, Ken Liu (Clarkesworld 11/14) “The Girl with the Flaxen Hair”, Igor Ljubuncic (Wars to End All Wars: Alternate Tales from the Trenches) […]

Heinlein Scholarship Recipients

Winners of the Heinlein Society’s annual undergraduate scholarships for academic year 2015-2016 were announced July 7, 2015 (Heinlein’s birthday). This year’s winners are Elias Anderson, who “hopes to pursue a career in the space industry,” and Timothy Brown, who will be “working as an intern with an engineering company to gain first-hand experience as guidance for his […]

Baen Fantasy Adventure Award Nominees

Finalists for the second annual Baen Fantasy Adventure Award have been announced: “Saurs”, Craig DeLancey “Unfound”, Rhiannon Held “Shell Game”, Joseph L. Kellogg “Victor the Sword”, Robin Lupton “Trappists”, Katherine Monasterio “Burning Savannah”, Alexander Monteagudo “Kiss from a Queen”, Jeff Provine “An Old Dragon’s Treasure”, Robert Russell “The Triton’s Son”, Keith Taylor “Adroit”, Dave Williams […]

2015 Eisner Awards

The 2015 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards were announced at Comic-Con International in San Diego, July 10, 2015. Winners of SF/F interest include: Best Short Story When the Darkness Presses, Emily Carroll ( Best Single Issue (or One-Shot) Beasts of Burden: Hunters and Gatherers, Evan Dorkin & Jill Thompson (Dark Horse) Best Continuing Series Saga, […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.