The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2015 Rhysling Awards Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association (SFPA) has announced the winners of the annual Rhysling Awards for science fiction, fantasy, and horror poetry, short and long form. This year’s winners are:


First Place
“Shutdown”, Marge Simon (Qualia Nous)

Second Place
“Science Fiction (with apologies to Marianne Moore’s “Poetry”)”, Ruth Berman (Dreams and Nightmares 98)

Third Place (Tie)
“I Imagine My Mother’s Death”, Bryan D. Dietrich (The Pedestal Magazine 74)
“The Peal Divers”, Francesca Forrest (Strange Horizons 3/17/14)
“Extinction”, Joshua Gage (Star*Line 37.3)
“After the Changeling Incantation”, John Philip Johnson (Strange Horizons 2/3/14)


First Place
“100 Reasons to Have Sex with an Alien”, F.J. Bergmann (2014 SFPA Poetry Contest)

Second Place
“Six Things the Owl Said”, Megan Arkenberg (Goblin Fruit, Spring)

Third Place
“The Perfect Library”, David Clink (If the World Were to Stop Spinning)

Poems are chosen by the membership of the SFPA, who vote on a list of nominations made by individual members and published in the Rhysling Anthology. Winners are regularly reprinted in the annual Nebula Awards Anthology.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.