The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for August, 2015

2015 Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire Winners

Winners of the 2015 Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire , honoring the best SF/F work published in France in 2014, were announced May 24, 2015 at Maison de l’Imaginaire du festival Étonnants Voyageurs in Saint-Malo, France. French Novel Aucun homme n’est une île, Christophe Lambert (J’ai lu, Nouveaux millénaires) Bastards, Ayerdhal (Au diable vauvert) Les Résidents, Maurice […]

2017 Worldcon in Helsinki

Helsinki in 2017 won the bid to host the 2017 Worldcon. Worldcon 75 will be held August 9-13, 2017 in Helsinki, Finland. Guests of honor are John-Henri Holmberg, Nalo Hopkinson, Johanna Sinisalo, Claire Wendling, and Walter Jon Williams. The price for an attending membership is currently €95.00. For more, see the official Worldcon 75 website.     […]

Wes Craven (1939-2015)

Director and writer WES CRAVEN, 76, died August 30, 2015 of brain cancer at home in Los Angeles. Though best known for the horror films he wrote and directed, he published one novel, SF thriller Fountain Society (1999), about a scientist who has his brain transplanted into a cloned body. Craven’s directorial debut was The […]

John Clute SF Library at Telluride

John Clute’s library of over 11,000 SF volumes has a new home at the Telluride Institute in Colorado, which has established the Clute Science Fiction Library at Telluride. The library, which is fully cataloged, will serve as a resource for scholars, students, and writers, and will host a yearly “Mountain Colloquy,” with plans for writers’ residences and […]

2015 Chesley Awards Winners

Winners for the 2015 Chesley Awards, given by the Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists (ASFA), were announced during Sasquan, the 73rd World Science Fiction Convention, held in Spokane, Washington, August 20, 2015: Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book Julie Dillon, for Shadows Beneath: The Writing Excuses Anthology, Brandon Sanderson, ed. (Dragonsteel) Jon Foster, […]

Alfies Awards

Following the Hugo Awards ceremony on August 22, 2015, George R.R. Martin held his own ceremony after midnight at his Hugo Losers Party at the Glover Mansion in Spokane WA, featuring an award created especially for the occasion: the Alfies, named in honor of Alfred Bester (whose The Demolished Man was the first ever novel […]

2015 Hugo and Campbell Awards Winners

Winners for the Hugo Awards and for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer were announced at Sasquan, the 73rd World Science Fiction Convention, held in Spokane, Washington, August 22, 2015. Best Novel (1,827 nominating ballots) The Three Body Problem, Cixin Liu (Tor) The Goblin Emperor, Katherine Addison (Tor) The Dark Between the […]

2014 Sidewise Awards Winners

The 2014 Sidewise Awards winners for the best alternate history stories and books of 2014 have been announced: Short Form “The Long Haul From the ANNALS OF TRANSPORTATION, The Pacific Monthly, May 2009”, Ken Liu (Clarkesworld 11/14) “The Girl with the Flaxen Hair”, Igor Ljubuncic (Wars to End All Wars: Alternate Tales from the Trenches) […]

2015 Baen Fantasy Award Winner

Winners for the second annual Baen Fantasy Adventure Award were announced: Grand prize: “Kiss from a Queen”, Jeff Provine First runner-up: “Trappists”, Katherine Monasterio Second runner-up: “Shell Game”, Joseph L. Kellogg Finalists: “Saurs”, Craig DeLancey “Unfound”, Rhiannon Held “Victor the Sword”, Robin Lupton “Burning Savannah”, Alexander Monteagudo “An Old Dragon’s Treasure”, Robert Russell “The Triton’s […]

Updated 2015 Parsec Awards Nominees

The Parse Awards Steering Committee has adjusted the list of finalists for the 2015 Parsec Awards, which honor excellence in speculative fiction podcasting. The following nominees were eligible, but should not have been listed as finalists. The committee notes “these works are well worth your time to listen, and we hope you will go and […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.