The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2015 Gemmell Awards Winners

The 2015 David Gemmell Legend Awards winners have been announced:

The Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel

  • Words of Radiance, Brandon Sanderson (Tor; Gollancz)
  • Half a King, Joe Abercrombie (Del Rey; Voyager UK)
  • Valour, John Gwynne (Tor UK)
  • Prince of Fools, Mark Lawrence (Ace; Harper Voyager)
  • The Broken Eye, Brent Weeks (Orbit)

The Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer

  • The Emperor’s Blades, Brian Staveley (Tor)
  • Traitor’s Blade, Sebastien De Cassel (Jo Fletcher; Quercus)
  • The Mirror Empire, Kameron Hurley (Angry Robot)
  • The Godless, Ben Peek (St. Martin’s; Tor UK)
  • Age of Iron, Angus Watson (Orbit)

The Ravenheart Award for Best Fantasy Cover Art

  • Sam Green for the cover of Words of Radiance, Brandon Sanderson (Gollancz)
  • Laura Brett for the cover of The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss (Gollancz)
  • Mike Bryan for the cover of Half a King by Joe Abercrombie (Harper Voyager)
  • Jason Chan for the cover of Prince of Fools, Mark Lawrence (Harper Voyager)
  • Jackie Morris for the cover of Fool’s Assassin, Robin Hobb (Harper Voyager)

The winners were announced in Heathrow on August 9, 2015 as part of the Nine Worlds Geekfest.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.