The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2015 Hugo and Campbell Awards Winners

Winners for the Hugo Awards and for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer were announced at Sasquan, the 73rd World Science Fiction Convention, held in Spokane, Washington, August 22, 2015.

Best Novel (1,827 nominating ballots)

Best Novella (1,083)


Best Novelette (1,031)

  • “The Day the World Turned Upside Down”, Thomas Olde Heuvelt (Lightspeed 4/14)
  • “The Journeyman: In the Stone House”, Michael F. Flynn (Analog 6/14)
  • “Championship B’tok”, Edward M. Lerner (Analog 9/14)
  • “Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust, Earth to Alluvium”, Gray Rinehart (Orson Scott Card’s InterGalactic Medicine Show 5/14)
  • “The Triple Sun: A Golden Age Tale”, Rajnar Vajra (Analog 7-8/14)

Best Short Story (1,174)


Best Dramatic Presentation – Long (1,285)

  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  • Edge of Tomorrow
  • Interstellar
  • The Lego Movie

Best Dramatic Presentation – Short (938)

  • Orphan Black: “By Means Which Have Never Yet Been Tried”
  • Doctor Who: “Listen”
  • The Flash: “Pilot”
  • Game of Thrones: “The Mountain and the Viper”
  • Grimm: “Once We Were Gods”

Best Related Work (1,150)


Best Graphic Story (785)

Best Professional Editor Long Form (712)

  • Vox Day
  • Sheila Gilbert
  • Jim Minz
  • Anne Sowards
  • Toni Weisskopf

Best Professional Editor Short Form (870)

  • Jennifer Brozek
  • Vox Day
  • Mike Resnick
  • Bryan Thomas Schmidt
  • Edmund R. Schubert

Best Professional Artist (753)

  • Julie Dillon
  • Kirk DouPonce
  • Nick Greenwood
  • Alan Pollack
  • Carter Reid

Best Semiprozine (660)

  • Lightspeed
  • Abyss & Apex
  • Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine
  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Strange Horizons

Best Fanzine (576)

  • Journey Planet
  • Black Gate
  • Elitist Book Reviews
  • The Revenge of Hump Day
  • Tangent Online

Best Fancast (668)

  • Galactic Suburbia Podcast
  • Adventures in SciFi Publishing
  • Dungeon Crawlers Radio
  • The Sci Phi Show
  • Tea and Jeopardy

Best Fan Writer (777)

  • Laura J. Mixon
  • Dave Freer
  • Amanda S. Green
  • Jeffro Johnson
  • Cedar Sanderson

Best Fan Artist (296)

  • Elizabeth Leggett
  • Ninni Aalto
  • Brad Foster
  • Spring Schoenhuth
  • Steve Stiles

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer [Not a Hugo Award] (851)

  • *Wesley Chu
  • Jason Cordova
  • *Kary English
  • Rolf Nelson
  • Eric. S. Raymond

*Finalists in their 2nd year of eligibility.

There were 2,122 nominating ballots received from members of LonCon 3, Sasquan, and MidAmeriCon II.

Several awards for services to SF fandom were presented during Sasquan.

First Fandom Hall of Fame Award

  • Julian May

First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame Awards

  • Margaret Brundage
  • Bruce Pelz
  • F. Orlin Tremaine

Sam Moskowitz Archive Award

  • David Aronovitz

Forrest J Ackerman Big Heart Award

  • Ben Yalow

Special Committee Award (chosen by the Sasquan committee)

  • Jay Lake


© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.