The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2015 Mythopoeic Awards Winners

The Mythopoeic Society announced the 2015 Mythopoeic Awards winners at Mythcon 46 on August 2, 2015 in Colorado Springs CO.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

  • Tales from Rugosa Coven, Sarah Avery (Dark Quest)
  • The Angel of Losses, Stephanie Feldman (Ecco)
  • Songs for Ophelia, Theodora Goss (Papaveria)
  • The Gospel of Loki, Joanne M. Harris (Gollancz)
  • Locke & Key series, Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

  • A Snicker of Magic, Natalie Lloyd (Scholastic)
  • The Night Gardener, Jonathan Auxier (Abrams)
  • The Castle Behind Thorns, Merrie Haskell (Katherine Tegen Books)
  • The Islands of Chaldea, Diana Wynne Jones & Ursula Jones (Greenwillow)
  • His Fair Assassin series, Robin LaFevers (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

  • C.S. Lewis and the Middle Ages, Robert Boenig (Kent State University Press)
  • Tolkien at Exeter College: How an Undergraduate Created Middle-earth, John Garth (Exeter College)
  • C. S. Lewis and Gender series: The Feminine Ethos in C.S. Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia, The Gender Dance: Ironic Subversion in C.S. Lewis’s Cosmic Trilogy, and Surprised by the Feminine: A Rereading of C.S. Lewis and Gender, Monika B. Hilder (Peter Lang)
  • Tolkien in the New Century: Essays in Honor of Tom Shippey, John Wm. Houghton, Janet Brennan Croft, Nancy Martsch, John D. Rateliff, & Robin Anne Reid, eds. (McFarland)
  • Beowulf: A Translation and Commentary, Together with Sellic Spell, J. R. R. Tolkien; Christopher Tolkien, ed. (Houghton Mifflin)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

  • Stories About Stories: Fantasy and the Remaking of Myth, Brian Attebery (Oxford University Press)
  • George MacDonald: Divine Carelessness and Fairytale Levity, Daniel Gabelman (Baylor University Press)
  • From the Forest: The Hidden Roots of our Fairy Tales, Sara Maitland (Counterpoint)
  • As If: Modern Enchantment and the Literary Prehistory of Virtual Reality, Michael Saler (Oxford University Press)
  • Peter Pan’s Shadows in the Literary Imagination, Kristen Stirling (Routledge)

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.