The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for September, 2015

2015 Copper Cylinder Awards

The Sunburst Award Society has announced the winners of the fourth annual Copper Cylinder Awards. The Adult Award winner is The Back of the Turtle by Thomas King (HarperCollins Canada). The Young Adult Award winner is The Door in the Mountain by Caitlin Sweet (ChiZine). Copper Cylinder awards winners are selected by members of the Sunburst Award Society for books […]

Spectrum Fantastic Art Live in San Francisco

Artist-focused convention Spectrum Fantastic Art Live is moving from Kansas City MO to San Francisco CA for its 2016 event, to be held October 28-30, 2016 at the Academy of Art University’s Jerrold building.  

2015 Dwarf Stars and Elgin Award Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has announced the 2015 Dwarf Stars and Elgin Awards winners. The Dwarf Stars Award is given by the SFPA to recognize the best speculative poem of 1-10 lines, published in the previous year. Winners will have their work reprinted in the 2015 Dwarf Stars Anthology. The first place winner receives […]

2015 Canopus Awards Finalists

Finalists for the inaugural 100 Year Starship (100YSS) Canopus Award for Excellence in Interstellar Writing have been announced. Canopus consists of both award and contest categories, and recognizes works “with a primary component of interstellar exploration or travel.” Previously Published Long-Form Fiction (40,000 words or more) The Creative Fire, Brenda Cooper (Pyr) Other Systems, Elizabeth […]

Clarion Foundation Endowment

The Clarion Foundation has received a $100,000 donation from “a benefactor who wishes to remain anonymous.” The donation will launch an endowment fund to support the Clarion Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers’ Workshop, held annually at the University of California, San Diego. The donor, who gave on the condition that the money would be used […]

NBA Longlist for YA Lit

The ten-title longlist for the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature has been announced, and includes the following works of genre interest: Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dimitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad by MT Anderson (Candlewick), Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson (Greenwillow/HarperCollins Children’s), Bone Gap by Laura Ruby (Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins Children’s), Challenger […]

Robinson and Jackson Win Forry Award

The Los Angeles Science Fantasy Society (LASFS) has selected Spider Robinson and Charles Lee Jackson II as this year’s recipients of the Forry Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Field of Science Fiction. The award, named for Forrest J Ackerman, has been presented annually since 1966. Past winners include Ray Bradbury, Andre Norton, Roger Zelazny, and […]

King Wins National Medal of Arts

Stephen King is one of the ten recipients of the 2015 National Medal of Arts, “the highest award given to artists and arts patrons by the United States government.” President Obama will present the award on September 10, 2015 in the East Room of the White House. The White House announcement reads, in part, “One of the most […]

2015 Parsec Awards Winners

Winners for the 2015 Parsec Awards, honoring excellence in speculative fiction podcasting, were announced September 9, 2015 at Dragon Con  in Atlanta GA. Best Speculative Fiction Audio Drama (Long Form) “The Sinister Secret of StarNasty” or “A Mike in the Mechanics”, Michael McQuilkin & Richard Wentworth (Hadron Gospel Hour) Edict Zero – FIS, Season 3 “Balancing Act”, […]

Le Guin Feminist SF Fellowship

The 2015 Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship is open to applications until 5 p.m. October 1, 2015. Sponsored by the Center for the Study of Women in Society, Robert D. Clark Honors College, and University of Oregon Libraries Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA), the $3,000 award “supports travel for the purpose of research […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.