The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for October, 2015

Wall Named Wiscon Chair

Aileen Wall has been named the new chair for Wiscon 40, scheduled to take place May 27-30, 2016. Wall is taking over from Jackie Lee, interim chair since Andrea Horbinski and s.e. smith resigned earlier this month. Wall has been on the Wiscon concom since 2014. For more information, see the announcement on the Wiscon blog.  

Weisskopf Wins Neffy

Baen editor Toni Weisskopf won the 2015 Neffy award for Best Editor. N3F also awarded a “Heroic Commendation” to “All of Hugo fandom for reviving the most ancient and honorable of all fannish customs, the all-hobby fan feud.” The Neffy award is presented by the National Fantasy Fan Federation (N3F), “the oldest (founded 1941) national science […]

2015 British Fantasy Awards Winners

The British Fantasy Society (BFS) announced the winners for the 2015 British Fantasy Awards on October 25, 2015 during an awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2015 in Nottingham England. Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award) Cuckoo Song, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan Children’s) City of Stairs, Robert Jackson Bennett (Jo Fletcher) The Relic Guild, Edward Cox (Gollancz) […]

Cixin Liu Wins Xingyun Award

Cixin Liu won the 2015 Xingyun Award for Best Achievement, presented October 18, 2015 in a ceremony in Chengdu, China. The annual Xingyun awards are organized by the World Chinese Science Fiction Association, and have been presented since 2010.

Atwood Wins Imagination in Service to Society Award

Author Margaret Atwood has won the Arthur C. Clarke Foundation’s Imagination in Service to Society Award. She will be recognized at a ceremony on October 28, 2015 at the Lockheed Martin Global Vision Center in Alexandria VA. Prior Arthur C. Clarke award recipients include authors Larry Niven and Ursula K. Le Guin, as well as […]

2015 National Book Awards Finalists

The shortlists for the National Book Awards have been announced, with several titles of genre interest in the Young People’s Literature category: Bone Gap by Laura Ruby (Balzer + Bray), Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman (HarperTeen), and Nimona by Noelle Stevenson (HarperTeen). Winners will be announced in a ceremony in New York on November 18, […]

WSFA Small Press Award Winner

The winner of the 2015 Washington Science Fiction Association Small Press Award for Short Fiction was announced October 10, 2015 at Capclave: “Jackalope Wives”, Ursula Vernon (Apex Magazine 1/14) “The Lesser Evil”, Day Al-Mohamed (Sword & Laser) “The Magician and Laplace’s Demon”, Tom Crosshill (Clarkesworld 12/14) “Vanilla”, Dirk Flinthart (Kaleidoscope) “Careful Magic”, Karen Healey (Kaleidoscope) […]

2015 Geffen Awards Winners

The 2015 Geffen Awards winners have been announced. The awards are presented by the Israeli Society for Science Fiction and Fantasy. Best Translated Science Fiction Book The Martian, Andy Weir, translated by Didi Chanoch (Armchair) Best Translated Fantasy Book The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman, translated by Didi Chanoch (Armchair) Best Translated YA Book […]

Fowler on Warwick Award Shortlist

Karen Joy Fowler’s We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves (Serpent’s Tail) is one of six finalists for the 2015 Warwick Prize for Writing. Founded in 2009 and run by the University of Warwick, the biennial literary award is a “uniquely international and cross-disciplinary award, open to any genre or form of writing.” This year’s theme was […]

2015 Sunburst Awards Winners

The winners of the 2015 Sunburst Awards for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic have been announced: Adult: The Back of the Turtle, Thomas King (HarperCollins) The Troop, Nick Cutter (Pocket) Station Eleven, Emily St. John Mandel (Picador) My Real Children, Jo Walton (Tor; Corsair) Will Starling, Ian Weir (Goose Lane) Adult Honorable Mentions: The […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.