The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for December, 2015

George Clayton Johnson (1929-2015)

Writer George Clayton Johnson, 86, died December 25, 2015. Johnson is best known in the genre for co-writing Logan’s Run (1967) with William F. Nolan, and for his work as a screenwriter. He wrote several episodes of The Twilight Zone as well as the debut episode of Star Trek, “The Man Trap” (1966). Johnson was […] Closes to Unsolicited Submissions has announced that, effective January 7, 2016, they will no longer accept unsolicited short fiction submissions: We’ve found some of our favorite, most innovative, and most surprising stories through slush. However, in recent years we’ve found that more and more of our stories have been coming to us from different sources. As more of […]

Peter Dickinson (1927-2015)

Author Peter Dickinson, 88, died December 16, 2015 in Winchester, Hampshire on his birthday. Peter Malcolm de Brissac Dickinson was born December 16, 1927 in Livingstone, Northern Rhodesia (now Zambia). He is best known for his numerous works for children and young adults, and is one of only seven authors to win two Carnegie Medals […]

Jane Yolen Mid-List Author Award

Authors Karen Coombs and Sallie Wolf are the 2015 recipients of the Jane Yolen Mid-List Author Award. The $3,000 annual grant, created and funded by Jane Yolen, honors mid-list authors “and aims to help raise awareness about their current works-in-progress.” For more information, including how to apply for the grant, see the Society of Children’s Book Writers […]

Tom Arden (1961-2015)

  Author David Rain, 54, who wrote SF as Tom Arden, died December 15, 2015 of cancer. Arden is best known for the five-book Orokon epic fantasy series, beginning with The Harlequin’s Dance (1997). He also wrote standalone novels Shadow Black (2002) and The Translation of Bastian Test (2005), as well as Doctor Who novella Nightdreamers […]

Lansdale Receives Chandler Award

Joe R. Lansdale is the 2015 recipient of the Raymond Chandler lifetime achievement award, “Italy’s top lifetime achievement honor” for noir and thriller writers. He will be honored at the Courmayeur Noir in Festival in Italy, to be held December 8-13, 2015. Prior winners include J.G. Ballard, P.D. James, and Donald Westlake.

Beagle vs Cochran

Author Peter S. Beagle has filed a civil suit in Alameda County CA against his business manager Connor Freff Cochran, Conlan Press, and Avicenna Development Corporation. The suit, filed November 24, 2015, alleges elder abuse (financial), elder abuse (constructive fraud), elder abuse (intentional infliction of emotional distress), elder abuse (physical), fraud, defamation (libel), defamation (slander), breach […]

Masters Review Fall Fiction Contest Winners

The Masters Review  announced the winners of their Fall Fiction contest on December 1, 2015. Winner: “Linger Longer”, Vincent Masterson Second Place: “Pool People”, Jen Neale Third Place: “Animalizing”, Marisela Navarro “The Lion and the Beauty Queen” by Brenda Peynado and “Linnet’s Gifts” by Zoe Gilbert received honorable mentions, placing 4th and 5th respectively. Winning […]

2015 Goodreads Choice Awards

Winners of the 2015 Goodreads Choice awards for the “best books of 2015,” as chosen by users of the site, were announced November 30, 2015. There are several categories of genre interest. Best Science Fiction Golden Son, Pierce Brown (Del Rey) 32,225 votes Best Fantasy Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances, Neil Gaiman (Morrow) 33,681 […]

Harvia Wins Rotsler Award

Artist Teddy Harvia won the 2015 Rotsler Award for “long-time wonder-working with graphic art in amateur publications of the science fiction community.” The award was announced during Loscon 42 in Los Angeles CA, November 27-29, 2015. The award is sponsored by the Southern California Institute for Fan Interests, and includes an honorarium of $300. The Rotsler judges […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.